--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from October 24, 2016

Kukkuteshwar Mahadev in Ujjain – Story of Kukkuteshwar Form of Shiva – 21st Shiva Temple in Ujjain

Kukkuteshwar Mahadev is worshiped in Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh. It is one of the 84 forms of Shiva worshiped in Ujjain. Those offering prayers to Kukkuteshwar Mahadev will get sins of their ancestors absolved. The temple dedicated to Kukkuteshwar Mahadev is located on the Gandhavati Ghat on the banks of Shipra River in Ujjain. This form of Shiva is associated with a king who used to take the form of a cock at night. Kukkuteshwar Mahadev is counted among the 84 Shiva Temples in Ujjain and it is the 21st temple visited during the parikarama of Shivalayas here. Story of Kukkuteshwar Mahadev form of Shiva in Ujjain There lived a king named Kroushik. He was very popular with his subjects due to his efficient rule. But the king used to get transformed into a cock at night. The queen was therefore unhappy. She consulted a saint who told her that the king was suffering from a curse of his previous birth. To get rid of the curse, the king was asked to offer prayers at Maha

Upapuranas List – About Hindu Scriptures Upa Puranas

Upapuranas occupy a very important place among Hindu scriptures. There are about eighteen or even more Upa Puranas or minor Puranas. They are equally important as the major puranas but some scholars treat them with lesser importance. The list of eighteen Upapuranas are: Santakumara,  Narasimha,  Skanda,  Sivadharma,  Ascharya,  Naradiya,  Kapila,  Vamana,  Asunas,  Brahmanda, Varuna,  Kalika,  Maheshwara,  Samba,  Saura,  Parasara,  Maricha  Bhargava. Majority of the Upapuranas appeared several centuries after the Mahapuranas or eighteen major Puranas. But there are some minor puranas whose antiquity is as same as the major puranas like Narasimha, Nandi, Samba and Aditya Puranas. Most of the Upa Puranas are treated as less important because they are taken as subsections of major puranas. The contents of the minor puranas are generally the same as those of the major Puranas. Upapuranas are broadly classified into two main groups - Saura and Vaishnava