Skip to main content


Showing posts from October 3, 2016

Durga Puja Navratri – Difference between Durga Puja and Navratri

The nine-day Navratri festival held in Ashwin month (September – October) coincides with the Durga Puja festival held during the same period. Therefore the festival is also known as Durga Puja Navratri. Durga Puja is mainly held in eastern parts of India and Goddess Durga worship is also performed in North India. In North, West and Southern parts of India, Navratri is held during the period. Navratri 2018 begins on October 10 and ends on October 19. Durga Puja Mahalaya is on October 8 ends with Durga Visarjan on October 19.

Durga PujaNavratriMahalaya

Ghat Sthapana
Second day of Navratri
Third day of Navratri
Fourth day of Navratri
Lalitha Panchami Durga Puja Sashti Lakshmi Puja Durga Puja Saptami Saraswati Avahan Puja Durga Ashtami Saraswati Puja Maha Navami Ayudha Puja Navratri EndsDurga Visarjan Vijaya Dasami

The nine day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswathi. The first three days of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Durga, next three days to Goddess Lak…

Navratri Offering of Sari and Coconut to Goddess Durga

Offering of Sari, Blouse Piece and coconut to Goddess during Navratri is considered highly auspicious. Saree, coconut and Blouse piece (cloth) is offered at the end of Mother Goddess worship during Navratri. It is the final offering made to any of the Goddess worshiped during Navaratri.
Goddess Shakti is formless and is beyond human imagination and thought. But this energy which is the creative force behind all living and nonliving takes a form which Her devotee prefers. By offering Sari and Blouse Piece to Goddess a devotee is invoking her in the form of Mother. The Mother who fulfills the wishes of her daughters and sons.
The Saree that is offered to Goddess Durga is red in color and is made of cotton or silk.
Blouse piece is placed on top of the Saree and the coconut is placed on top of the blouse piece. Some rice is sprinkled on the saree and blouse piece.
The three eyes or the tuft of the coconut faces the image of Goddess.
Stand in front of Goddess and the saree with coconut,…

Dashain 2018 dates – Importance and How to Observe Dasain in Nepal in 2018

Dashain is the 10-day Hindu festival in Nepal dedicated to Mother Goddess Shakti. Dashain 2018 begins on October 10. Dasain falls in Ashwin month and the festival is popularly known as Navratri and Durga Puja in India.  Below is the importance and a brief idea on how to observe the ten-day festival. Dashain 2018 dates are:
Ghatsthapana first day of Dashain – October 10Fulpati Seventh day of Dasain – October 16Ashtami or Kal Ratri – October 17Navami – October 18Vijayadasami 10th and final day of Dashain – October 19 The nine-day Navratri festival that is celebrated by Indian Hindus is popularly known as Dashain in Nepal. The myth behind the celebration and the period are the same as Navratri but the method of celebration differs largely. There are several unique rituals associated with Dashain. First Day of Dashain The first day of Dashain, that is the first day of Navratri, is known as Ghatasthapana. As the name indicates, a pot or kalash with an image of Goddess Durga is installed in …

Mahalayeshwar Mahadev in Ujjain – Story of Mahalayeshwar Form of Shiva – 24th Shiva Temple in Ujjain

Mahalayeshwar Mahadev is worshiped in Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh. It is one of the 84 forms of Shiva worshiped in Ujjain. Those offering prayers to Mahalayeshwar Mahadev will be successful in three worlds.

The temple dedicated to Mahalayeshwar Mahadev is located at Khatriwada in Ujjain.

This form of Shiva is associated with the creation of living beings on earth.

Mahalayeshwar Mahadev is counted among the 84 Shiva Temples in Ujjain and it is the 24th temple visited during the parikarama of Shivalayas here.

Story of Mahalayeshwar Mahadev form of Shiva in Ujjain
Once, Goddess Parvati wanted to know how Shiva maintains the cycle of creation. Shiva then told Goddess Parvati that he maintains the cycle of creation at Mahakaal Vana in Ujjain.
All gods and goddesses, living beings and inanimate things appear from the Mahalayeshwar Mahadev Shivling in Ujjain. At the end of a cycle, during the great deluge, they merge in the Shivling. This cycle of creation continues.

Sarangapani Temple Timings – Darshan – Opening Closing and Pooja Time at Sarangapani Temple in Kumbakonam, Tamil Nadu

Sarangapani Temple is an ancient and large temple dedicated to Hindu God Vishnu and his consort in Kumbakonam, Tamil Nadu. Below is the Sarangapani Temple timings in detail. Please note that there will be changes in the opening and closing time of the temple during important rituals and festival. The darshan time will be extended on special occasions. The shrine will remain closed during Grahanam or eclipse.

Sarangapani Temple Darshan Timings:

Morning - 7:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Evening – 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Thrikodithanam Temple – Thrikodithanam Mahavishnu Temple

Thrikodithanam Mahavishnu Temple is located around 18 km northwest of Chengannur and 9 km north of Thiruvalla town in Kerala. The temple is associated with Pandavas of the Mahabharata. Thrikodithanam Temple was constructed by Sahadeva, the fifth of the Five Pandava brothers. The shrine is also one among the 108 Divya Deshams – Thrikodithanam (108 temples dedicated to Lord Vishnu as per Vaishnava tradition).

Story of Thrikodithanam Temple The murti of Lord Vishnu worshipped in the shrine is also known as Atbhuta Narayana. The other four Pandavas received Vishnu murtis except Sahadeva. In spite of long tapas and intense austerities, he was not able to locate a murti of Vishnu. A depressed Sahadeva decided to end his life by jumping into pyre. Suddenly a murti of Vishnu with four hands appeared from the pyre. This murti was installed at the Thrikodithanam Temple and it came to be known as Atbhuta Narayana.

Murtis Worshipped in the Temple

The presiding deity in the temple is Chaturbahu Vis…