Skip to main content


Showing posts from February 6, 2014

Five Sheaths or Vestures Covering Human Body as per Hindu Philosophy

As per Hinduism, there are five sheaths or vestures covering human body. This is an important aspect through which Hindu philosophy understand a human being. The five sheaths or vestures covering human body are:

Annamaya Kosha or the sheath of food or the physical body.

Pranamaya Kosha or the sheath of vital breaths or the animal body or the emotional sheath, the seat of desires, which a man has in common with all animals, in other words, the vital functions.

The Manomaya Kosha or the sheath of mind, or the mental body or the rational soul, or the body that distinguishes man from the lower animals.

The Vijnanamaya Kosha or Intuitional body.

Anandamaya Kosha or Bliss body.

It is with the mental body that a man performs sacrifices in order to go to heaven; and it is with the mental body that a man plans mischief to rob others of their possessions and to appropriate them himself. So this mental body is a double faced animal one face turned towards Dharma (like goodness) and other turned…

April 2014 Hindu Marriage Dates – Vivah Dates in April Month in 2014

These are the Hindu marriages dates for April 2014 for various regions in India based on Hindu Panchang and calendar in the respective regions. You must be aware that marriage dates are based on calendars followed in various regions and there is no unformity. Below are the marriage dates in western and northern parts of India.
April 4 April 5 April 11 April 13 April 14 April 15 April 16 April 21 April 22 April 23 and April 24, 2014 are good dates in western parts of India.
In North India, Good wedding dates in April 2014 are April 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 26 and April 27, 2014. There are no muhurat before April 15 due to Kharmas.

Bhujanga Devi Temple – Stones are offered by devotees at this Temple in Uttar Pradesh

BhujangaDeviTemple is located at Naglabheekan village in Etwah District in Uttar Pradesh. Devotees offer stones here to get their wish fulfilled. Bhujanga Devi is a manifestation of Mother Goddess Durga.
The murti of Bhujanga Devi worshipped in the temple is black in color and as a height of six feet. The temple is visited daily by more than 100 devotees and the small temple is surrounded by stones. The number of devotees swells during festivals and auspicious days like Navratri.
Legend has it that a mentally challenged woman was cured by the Goddess when she offered stones to the deity.
Black stones are widely offered to the deity.

Patience brings rhythm and harmony into our chaotic lives – Dada J P Vaswani

To be nervous is to lose half the battle; to be nervous is to burn mental energy to no useful purpose.
Patience brings rhythm and harmony into our chaotic lives.
Harsh words can cause more wounds than sticks and stones.
Every time you are irritated, you are burning up valuable emotional energy, which can be used constructively.
With faith we can achieve the impossible. Without faith we cannot cross the threshold. Dada J P Vaswani

Today’s Hindu Calendar – February 6, 2014 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on February 6, 2014 (Today) – Shukla Paksha Saptami Tithi or seventh day during the waxing phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is is Shukla Paksha Saptami Tithi or the seventh day during the waxing phase of moon till 5:09 PM on February 6. Then onward it is Ashtami Tithi or the eighth day during the waxing phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
Nakshatra – Ashwini Nakshatra till 9:39 AM. Then onward it is Bharani Nakshatram.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Mesha Rasi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days – Ratha Saptami. Prayers and rituals dedicated to Surya, Sun God, is offered in various parts of India today in different names – Acchala Saptami, Arogya Saptami etc.
Kali Yuga Year – 5115
Vikram Samvant 2070 – Magh Shukla Paksha Saptami Tithi or the seventh day during the waxing phase of moon in Magha month in North India - Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhan…