Skip to main content


Showing posts from May 28, 2011

Download Shikshapatri pdf in English for free

Shikshapatri, originally written by Sri Swaminarayan, is the most important holy scripture of the Swaminarayan sect. It is read daily by the Swaminarayan devotees and consists of 212 verses.  Swaminarayan Bhujmandir is now offering the Shikshapatri in English in pdf format with meaning and explanations.  The holy text consists mainly what the Swaminarayan devotees are expected to follow in life. Link - Download Shikshapatri pdf Note – You will need pdf reader installed to read or download the book.

Giving expands the heart and removes the creases of the heart – Swami Sivananda Sayings

Air rushes into where there is vacuum. Absolute rushes into where there is no ego. The healthier a man is, the more harmoniously all his faculties develop. Health is wealth. Health is indeed a covetable possession. Without modesty beauty is ungrateful. Entertain good thoughts. Do virtuous actions. You can make your future better.
Swami Sivananda

Today’s Hindu Calendar – May 28, 2011 – Tithi, Vrat, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on May 28, 2011 – Today is Krishna Paksha Ekadasi – 11th day of waning phase of moon in Hindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is Krishna Paksha Ekadasi till 8:22 PM on May 28, 2011. Afterwards it is Krishna Paksha Dwadashi or 12th day of the waning phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time. Nakshatra – Uttarabhadrapada or Uthiradam Nakshatra till 4:16 AM. Then onwards it is Revati Nakshatra Rashi or Moon Sign – Meena Rasi. Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days – Ekadasi Fasting. Acchala or Apara Ekadasi. Jalkrida Ekadasi in Orissa. Bhadrakali Gyaras in Punjab and other regions. Vaishakh Krishna Paksha Ekadasi or eleventh day of the waning phase of moon in Vaishakh month in calendars followed in Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat. Jyeshta Krishna Paksha Ekadasi or eleventh day of the waning phase of moon in Jyeshta month in calendars followed in Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, H…