Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 12, 2010

Skanda Purana in Hindi – Read Skand Puran in Hindi Online

Skanda Purana is one among the 18 Puranas and narrates the stories associated with Hindu God Muruga, also known as Kartikeya and Skanda. Skanda Puran is the largest of the 18 Puranas. Skanda Purana in Hindi is provided by Ved Puran website. You can read it online in Hindi but there is no download option.

You can read Skanda Purana in Hindi here at Ved Puran.

Vrishchik Sankranti – Vrishchika Samkranti

Vrishchik Sankranti marks the beginning of the Sun’s transition from Vrishchik Rasi to Dhanu Rashi or from Scorpio Zodiac to Sagittarius Zodiac. Vrishchik Sankranti 2017 date is November 16. Time - 12:09 AM on November 17. (note a day in Hindu calendar ends just before next day sunrise.) There are 12 Sankrantis in a Hindu Solar Calendar. This Samkranti is an auspicious day for many Hindu communities in eastern parts of India.

‘San’ means plenty and good and ‘Kranti’ means radical change and Sankranthi means plenty of good change

Next is the Dhanu Sankranti and with it begins the Dhanu Masa.

Teachings from Srimad Bhagavad Purana

Whenever we fail to see the unity of all objects and the subject but see multiplicity of objects, it will give rise to fear. The one, who moves away from the God, loses the awareness of his true Self. This is all due to the delusive power of the God. This can be overcome by worshipping the Lord who is present in all the beings. A person who does not react to the objects of senses either with revulsion or joy, considering them all as part of Lord’s power of delusion and temptation, is the best among devotees. What crass ignorance of people! Knowing the Lord to be the self of all and themselves as one with the transcendental Supreme being, people search for God outside. Happiness lies in being content with whatever one gets. A person who has no control on his mind will continue to be dissatisfied even if he were to be bestowed with the riches of all the worlds. Srimad Bhagavad Purana