Skip to main content


Showing posts from October 10, 2017

Radha Kund Snan – Holy Bath on Bahula Ashtami in Radhakunda in Vrindavan

Radha Kund Snan is an important bathing ritual associated with Lord Krishna and Radha in Vrindavan. Radha Kund Snan 2018 date is November 1. The Snan (holy dip) is observed during the midnight on the eighth day of Krishna Paksha of Kartik month as per traditional North Indian Hindu calendar - the day is also known as Bahula Ashtami and Ahoi Ashtami. This sacred pond located in Vrindavan in Braj (Uttar Pradesh) and is associated with the legend of Lord Krishna and Radha.
Childless Couples and Radha Kund Snan It is widely believed that taking a holy dip in the Radha Kund on the Kartik Krishna Paksha Ashtami will help childless couples in having children. Couples who have problems in conceiving come here and seek blessings of Radharani.

The midnight time, Nishita kaal time, is considered the auspicious period to take the holy dip.

Couples perform puja standing in the pond. They offer white raw pumpkin, which is famously known as Petha. It is offered after decorating it with red cloth. T…

Ahoi Ashtami 2018 date - Importance of Ahoi Ashtami Vrat Puja

Ahoi Ashtami vrat and puja is dedicated to Ahoi Mata or Goddess Hoi and is observed by mothers for the welfare of their children. Ahoi Ashtami 2018 date is October 31 in most regions in North India. Hoi mata vrat is more popular in North India especially in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar.
When is it Observed? It is observed on the eighth day during the waning phase of moon or the Krishna Paksha Ashtami in Kartik month as per traditional Hindu calendar followed in North India.
Who is Hoi Mata?
Ahoi or Hoi Mata is a manifestation of Mother Goddess Shakti and is worshipped mainly by the female members of the family. She is worshipped on the walls of rural homes. Her image is painted on the walls during Ahoi Ashtami and other festivals. She is worshipped for healthy and long life of children. Rural legends suggest that she protects offspring of all living beings. Ahoi Mata Katha - Vrat Katha Read on Ahoi Ashtami A popular story associated with Ahoi Mata states that a mother had lost seven sons. …

Five arrows of Manmatha – Names of the Five Arrows of Kamadeva

Kamadeva, the Hindu God of love, is also known as Manmatha as he came out of Brahma’s mind. He holds a flowery bow in his hand known as Pushpadhanva. He also has five arrows in his quiver. The names of the five arrows of Kamadeva are: LambiniTapiniDraviniMarini andBodhini. The five arrows are made of five flowers. They are: Lotus (aravinda)AshokaJasmineNilotpala (blue lotus)Malayaja (sandalwood flower) Related Story – Shiva Burning Kamadeva

Goddess Lakshmi Temple in Jabalpur in Madhya Pradesh – Goddess Murti Changes Color Three Times

There is a unique and extraordinary temple dedicated to Goddess Lakshmi in Jabalpur in Madhya Pradesh. The murti or idol of Laxmi Ma changes its color three times. Sunrays also fall on the murti during sunrise. The temple is located in the Adhartal area in Jabalpur and the shrine is known as Pachmatha Temple.

Short History of the Temple The original temple was constructed during the reign of Rani Durgavati of the Gondwana during the 16th century AD.
The temple is located near the famous Adhartal Talab.
Sri Yantra The four walls of the sanctum sanctorum are noted for Sri Yantra. It is believed that during ancient time, the temple was an important center of Tantric Puja and worship. Due to this reason, the shrine attracts a huge crowd during Amavasya or no moon day.
During sunrise, the rays of sun fall on the feet of the murti of Goddess Lakshmi in the temple.
Goddess Lakshmi Idol Changes its Color Three Times The murti of the Goddess Lakshmi in the temple changes its color three times da…

Do Not Lose the Capacity to Question

Man is, indeed, a born questioner. As children, we are generally full of questions and curiosity. Children are, thus, bubbling with energy and enthusiasm to know. As we grow up, however, we begin to lose—thanks to our social conditioning—this capacity to question.

Curiosity begins to wane and through the various experiences that we undergo, we accumulate some ‘knowledge’ and assume that we know all. The more people advance in years, the more they seem to lose the capacity to question, and instead they develop an attitude of self-righteousness and complacence.

People become ‘satisfied’ with life and its possibilities, which is nothing but utter carelessness and laziness to undergo the hardships involved in seeking answers to higher and deeper issues of life. They become mechanical and insensitive.

But fortunately this insensitivity is not final and irreversible. Suffering and pain awaken man’s inner capacity to question. After many experiments and experiences, he stops blaming others …

Hindu Calendar Today – October 10, 2017 – Tithi, Vrat, Good - Auspicious Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festivals

Tithi in Hindu Calendar, Today, on Tuesday, October 10, 2017 – Krishna Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the waning phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in most regions. It is Krishna Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the waning phase of moon till 2:58 PM on October 10. Then onward it is Krishna Paksha Sashti Tithi or the sixth day during the waning phase of moon till 12:35 PM on October 11.All time based on India Standard Time.
How is October 10, 2017, as per Hindu Panchang? – Good and auspicious day after 12:35 PM. Nakshatra – Rohini Nakshatra till 4:11 PM on October 10. Then onward it is Mrigasira or Makayiram Nakshatram till 2:32 PM on October 11.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and south Rajasthan), Rohini Nakshatram till 12:09 PM on October 10. Then onward it is Mrigasira or Makayiram Nakshatram till 10:26 AM on October 11.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Vrishabha Rashi till 3:21 AM on October 11.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gu…