Skip to main content


Showing posts from May 19, 2016

Arumugan – Why Muruga is known as Arumuga?

Arumugan is one among the numerous names of Muruga. He is known as Arumuga, or the one with six faces, because when Goddess Parvati joined him he had six faces and twelve hands.

Lord Muruga, also known as Skanda, Subrahamaniya and Kartik, was born as six different babies to Lord Shiva after he awoke from the deep meditation after Goddess Sati’s death. Six Krittika stars looked after the six babies.
When Goddess Parvati found the six babies, she hugged them, and they became one. He then came to be known as Arumugan.

Significance of the six faces One face removes ignorance and spiritual darkness engulfing the world. One face showers boons on devotees who follow dharma. One face watches the pujas and offerings and blesses those devotees offering it with a pure mind. One face helps those in search of self realization and investigating the truth of Pranavam or Om. One face destroys the enemies and those how practice adharma. One face looks lovingly at his consorts.

Abar Mata Mela

Abar Mata Mela is observed in Vaishakh month. It is the annual fair and festival at the Abar Mata Temple in Madhya Pradesh.  Abar Mata Mela 2018 date is April 30. Abar Mata is a powerful grama devata. She is worshipped for attaining wealth and peace.

The festival and fair attracts hundreds of devotees to the mandir.

Processions, pujas, rituals, fireworks etc are part of the festivities.

For the annual festival, the shrine is decorated with lamps, lights, flowers, leaves and sugarcane for the occasion.
Abar Mata Mela is annually observed on Vaishakh Purnima tithi or the full moon day in Vaishakh month as per traditional Hindu lunar calendar followed in Madhya Pradesh.

Ashta Siddhi – Eight Yogic Powers as per Hinduism

Ashta Siddhi is the eight Siddhis or yogic powers as per Hinduism. They are: Anima – becoming very minute like an atom.Laghima – becoming very light in weight like cottonMahima – becoming large in size like a mountain or an ocean.Prapti – touching faraway object with one’s hand.Prakamya – the power to behave according to one’s desire.Vasihstva – controlling all beings and things in the world.Ishitva – Controlling births and deaths of beings and things.Vasishta – the power of making all beings and things behave according to one’s will. These siddhis are mentioned in Vyasa Bhashya on Yogasutra of Patanjali (III:45). To attain them one has to bring the five elements (earth, water, fire, air and space) under control through intense practice.

Laghima Siddhi

Happiness is not dependent on external circumstances – Paramahansa Yogananda

Happiness is not dependent on external circumstances; rather, it is to be found in the simpler joys of life, and most of all in the ever new bliss of deep meditation.

Be happy by clinging to the simple, true, and lasting soul-joys. They come by deep thinking, introspection, spiritual inspiration, and meditation.

Modern life is becoming very unsatisfactory. It does not give you happiness. There are too many things, too many desires. More nice cars and dresses and entertainments — and more worries! Free yourself from these so-called “necessities” and spend more time with God. Make your life simple. Be happy in and by your Self.
The pleasure of modern man is in getting more and more, and what happens to anyone else doesn’t matter. But isn’t it better to live simply — without so many luxuries and with fewer worries?
– Paramahansa Yogananda

Today’s Hindu Calendar – May 19, 2016 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on Thursday, May 19, 2016 (Today) – Shukla Paksha Trayodasi Tithi or the thirteenth day during the waxing phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in most regions. It is Shukla Paksha Trayodasi Tithi or the thirteenth day during the waxing phase of moon till 9:49 PM on May 19. Then onward it is Shukla Paksha Chaturdasi Tithi or the fourteenth day during the waxing phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
How is May 19, 2016 as per Hindu Panchang? – It is not a good date.
Nakshatra – Chitra or Chithirai or Chithira Nakshatra till 1:25 PM on May 19. Then onward it is Swathi or Chothi Nakshatram.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and south Rajasthan), it is Hasta or Hastam or Atham Nakshatra till 1:31 PM on May 19. Then onward it is Swathi or Chothi Nakshatra.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Kanya Rashi till 12:07 AM on May 19. Then onward it is Tula Rashi.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and south Rajasthan), it is Tula …