Skip to main content


Showing posts from April 16, 2014

Vrishabha Rashi Rudraksha – Which Rudraksha Should Vrishabha Rashi Born People Wear?

Each Rashi born people as per Hindu Astrology should wear a particular face Rudraksha for success, love, peace and prosperity. Vrishabha Rashi born people should wear Rudraksh with six or seven faces. Wearing of which will bring in all round success to Vrishabha Rashi or Taurus Zodiac.
The deity associated with six face Rudraksha is Kartik or Subrahmanya.
The deity associated with seven face Rudraksh is Kamdev
The devotee who wears it will also have the blessing of Shukra Graha or Jupiter. One wearing seven face will have the blessing of Shani or Saturn.
Along with wearing of the Rudraksh one should practice self control, worship of personal deity and good thoughts.
Performing food donation and distributing clothes after the wearing the Rurdraksh is highly meritorious for Vrishabha Rashi People.
Some scholars are also of the view that Vrishabha Rasi born people can wear thirteen or fourteen face Rudraksha.

Story of Shatrughna and Demon Lavana

Shatrughna was the youngest of the four brothers in the Ramayana. The story of Shatrughna and Demon Lavana takes place after the exile of Bhagvan Sri Ram. Demon Lavana was the son of Madhu, who was an ardent devotee of Shiva. Madhu had received a Trishul or Trident from Shiva. The trident could destroy anything and return to the wielder.
After the death of Madhu, the trident came into the possession of his son. Lavana was a wicked demon and harassed people after possessing the powerful trident. He used it against innocent people.
People complained to Sri Ram who was then ruling Ayodhya. Sri Ram deputed Shatrughna to defeat the demon and advised him how to go about.
Shatrughna and his army marched towards Lavana’s kingdom.
During the journey to Lavana’s kingdom, Shatrughna is believed to have a stayed at Valmiki Ashram and met Mata Sita and her twin sons Luv and Kush.
After paying his respects to Mata Sita, Shatrughna proceeded towards Lavana.
As told by Sri Ram, Shatrughna killed La…

Which Rudraksha is for Venus or Shukra?

Venus or Shukra is associated with luck and prosperity. Many people wear Rudraksha that is associated with this Navgraha in Hindu astrology. Rudraksha associated with Venus is the one with six face or the one with thirteen face. Both of which have the blessing of Shukra Navgraha.
The six face Rudraksha is also blessed by Kartik or Muruga or Shanmugha.
The six face Rudraksha will help in removing all the problems associated with life. It helps in creating a peaceful atmosphere. A devotee can attain peace and prosperity through worshiping it.
The thirteen face Rudraksha also helps in attaining peace and prosperity.
Along with wearing the holy bead one should also practice self control, good thoughts and devotion to personal deity.

Chandika Navami Vrat

Chandika Navami Vrat is observed on the ninth day during the waning phase of moon in Vaishakh month as per traditional Hindu calendar followed in North India. Chandika Navami Vrat 2018 date is April 9.
Mother Goddess in the form of Chandika is worshiped on the day. People offer red fresh flowers to the Goddess.
A fast is held from sunrise to next day sunrise.
Feeding poor children or gifting dress to poor children on the day is considered highly meritorious.

Which is the Lucky Color of Krittika or Kartika Nakshatra?

Krittika Nakshatra is the third among the 27 Nakshatras in Hindu Astrology. The lucky color associated with Kartika or Krittika Nakshatra first quarter is Red and Orange. The colors associated with Krittika Nakshatra 2nd, 3rd and 4th quarter are white and Silver. As per astrology a particular type of color is dedicated to a certain Nakshatra.
Krittika Nakshatra first quarter is in Meda Rashi or Aries Zodiac. The next three quarters are in Vrishabha Rasi or Taurus Zodiac.
Wearing Red or Orange color dress for interviews and other competitions are lucky for those people born in the first quarter of the Nakshatra. The next three quarter born people should wear white and silver color dress.
The colors to be completely avoided are ash and cream.

Vakratunda Chaturthi in Mithilanchal

Vakratunda Chaturthi is observed on the fourth day during the waning phase of moon in Vaishakh month. In 2018, Vakratunda Chaturthi in Mithilanchal is on April 3. The day is dedicated to making prayers to Ganesha.
Vakratunda is one among the numerous names of Ganesha. Mithilanchal is the region located in North Bihar in India and follows its own calendar and traditions.
Vakratunda means ‘one with a twisted tusk.’ Ganesh took the form of Vakratunda to annihilate demon Matsaryasura
A fast is observed from sunrise till the sighting of the moon on the day.
Salt is avoided while fasting.
Prayers are offered in the morning and evening.

Map during Mahabharata Period

There is no dearth to maps that represent the Mahabharata period. Unlike Ramayana maps, majority of the maps of the Mahabharata show a high degree of uniformity. Here is a link to a high resolution map of Mahabharata period published by the University of Chicago. The map contains all the important places during the Mahabharata period. There is also a separate map of all the important sacred places mentioned in the epic. There is another map with the opposing forces of the Kurukshetra War.
You can view the high resolution Mahabharata map here.

Our mind is restless because wherever we go, we find fault and look for defects in others – Mata Amritanandamayi

We should gain control over our mind as we do to a TV using the remote control.
If we let go of our likes and dislikes, we will become fit vessels to receive the God’s ever flowing grace.
Our mind is restless because wherever we go, we find fault and look for defects in others.
Spiritual education gives us the ability to face life’s challenges with courage and equanimity of mind.
We should become aware of our negative tendencies and weaken them through good thoughts, not by fighting them. Mata Amritanandamayi