Skip to main content


Showing posts from March 23, 2012

Places Where Kali Resides in Kali Yuga

The present age as per Hindu Tradition is the Kali Yuga. Kali has numerous meanings – anger, suffering, grieve, hurt, confound and confuse. Please note that this is not the Goddess Kali (Kaali). It is the demon Kali. Hindu scriptures state that there are five places where Demon Kali resides in Kali Yuga.

It is believed that for the welfare of humans and other living beings, the domain of Kali has been restricted to five areas. It was King Parikhshit, the Grandson of Arjuna and son of Abhimanyu that decided on the five places that Demon Kali can reside.
Legend has it that King Parikshit once happened to witness a king attacking a cow and a bull. There is no greater sin than to kill a cow and King Parikshit decided to kill the king for attacking the cow and bull.
Parikshit was about sent his arrow on the king, suddenly the cow turned into Mother Earth, Bull turned into Dharma and the king turned into Kali.
Kali pleaded with the Parikshit that he was forced to attack mother earth and dh…

Importance of Nandana Ugadi

Nandananama Samvatsara begins on March 23, 2012. Nandana means that which bestows happiness. The year is ruled by the planet Shukra or Venus. Nandananama Samvatsara ends on April 10, 2013.

Dr. Kandadai Ramanujacharya writes about the importance of NandanaUgadi in the Hindu The year Nandana returns after a cycle of 60 years. Why is the number 60 so significant in our lives? Says Sanskrit scholar Dr. Kandadai Ramanujacharya, “The number six is symbolic in more than one way. Life has six stages: birth, growth, change, identity, decay and death. Similarly, man is wrought with six moods: hunger, lust, joy, sorrow, aging and annihilation. Six is a significant number in as much as it represents our mind which is our sixth sense organ with six faculties: reason, emotion, thought, awareness, knowledge and intelligence. Six impurities that rival man, according to our Shastras are lust, anger, greed, pride, delusion and envy. The universe is full with sixes. And we celebrate our 60th year of bi…

Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa on formless Brahman

Fire itself has no definite shape, but in glowing embers it assumes certain forms. The formless fire is then endowed with forms. Similarly, the formless God sometimes invests Himself with definite forms.
The sun is many times larger than the earth but distance makes it look like a very small disk; so the Lord is infinitely great, but being too far away from Him we fail to comprehend His real greatness.
God is absolute eternal Brahman as well as the Father of the Universe. The indivisible Brahman, pure Existence, Intelligence and Bliss, is like a vast, shoreless ocean without bounds and limits in which I only struggle and sink, but when I approach the always sportive personal deity, Hari, I get peace like the sinking man who finds the shore.
Related Sri Ramakrishna Sayings