Skip to main content


Showing posts from February 9, 2012

Haridwar Chandi Devi Temple

ChandiDeviTemple is a must visit temple for those visiting Haridwar. The temple is dedicated to Goddess Chandi. Legend has it that Chanda and Munda were annihilated by Goddess Chandi here. The main Murti in the temple is Swayambhu (appeared on its own) – the murti that is worshiped was consecrated by Adi Shankaracharya in the 8th century. The temple is also one among the Panch Tirth in Haridwar.
Situated atop the Neel Parvat, the temple was constructed in 1929 by Suchat Singh, King of Kashmir.
Located 4 km from Hari ki Paudi in Haridwar.
The temple is a 3-km trek from Chandi Ghat.

The ChandiDeviTemple is now also accessible by a ropeway, which starts near the GauriShankarTemple.
ChandiDeviTemple is open from 5:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Nearby Temples include MansaDeviTemple, NeeleshwarTemple, NageshwarTemple and the temple dedicated to Anjana Devi, mother of Hanuman.

More Details
If interested read more about Goddess Chandi here.

Story of Mandodari, wife of Ravana

Mandodari, the wife of Ravana, was a very beautiful woman. It is believed that Mandodari got the celestial beauty as a result of the blessing of Shiva. Legend has it that in her previous birth Mandodari was a celestial damsel named Madhura. She took birth as a woman on earth as result of a curse by Goddess Parvati by which she became a frog. The story of the previous birth of Mandodari is found in the Uttara Ramayana.

Celestial damsel Madhura was an ardent devotee of Shiva and used to observe the Somvar Vrat (Monday fasting) dedicated to Shiva. One Monday after observing Somvar Vrat, Madhura went to Kailash to meet Shiva. Goddess Parvati was not present at Kailash at this time.
When Goddess Parvati returned, She found Madhura and Shiva at Kailash. Goddess Parvati became jealous as Madhura who was a very beautiful woman. She doubted both Shiva and Madhura. In a fit of anger, Goddess Parvati cursed Madhura to live as a frog for twelve years in a well. Shiva was moved by the plight of M…