Skip to main content


Showing posts from June 23, 2010

Saptanagas – Concept Seven Snakes or Serpents in Hindu Religion – Sapta Naga

Saptanagas is the collective name given to seven holy and divine serpents in Hindu religion. The seven snakes or nagas are Ananta, Takshaka, Karka, Padma, Mahapadma, Sanmkhaka and Gulika. These seven serpents appear in Puranas, Mahabharata, Ramayana and other holy scriptures associated with Hinduism. The Sapta Naga concept is mentioned in the Agni Purana.The Agni Purana states that these serpents should adorn the walls of the temples. Some of them are depicted as having multiple heads. Hindu God Vishnu sleeps on Ananta in the milky ocean. You may also like to readSaptamatrikas

Official website of Tulja Bhavani Temple – Tuljapur Bhavani Mandir

ShriTuljaBhavaniTemple located at Tuljapur in Osmanabad District in Maharashtra is one of the most important Goddess Shakti Temples in the state and is also one of the Shaktipeetahs. Now the Tuljabhavani Temple Samiti has created an official website of the mandir in both English and Marathi. Currently the website provides some basic information like how to reach the temple, distance from important towns and cities in Maharashtra.

Tulja Bhavani was the family deity of Chatrapathi Shivaji Maharaj and also of thousands of families in Maharashtra and other states. The website will be soon providing online puja facility.

You can visit the website here - Official website of Tulja Bhavani Temple (click the link to visit the website)

You may also like to read Official website of Pandarpur Vithal Temple

Manorath Dwitiya Vrat – Manorath Dvitiya Vrata

Manorath Dwitiya Vrat is observed on the second day during the Shukla Paksha (waxing phase of moon) in the month of Ashada. Manorath Dwitiya Vrat 2018 date is July 14. The world famous Jagannath Rath Yatra is held on the day.

This Vrat is observed mainly in western parts of India is dedicated to Lord Vishnu.

The main deity worshipped on the day is Krishna Avatar of Lord Krishna.

Please note that there is also a Manorath Dwadasi Vrat which is observed on the 12th day Shukla Paksha of Phalgun month.This Manorath Tritiya Vrat is dedicated Goddess Shakti.

Shiva Shayana Chaturdasi 2018 Date – Shiv Shayan Vrata

Shiva Shayana Chaturdasi is observed from the 14th day of the Shukla Paksha of Ashada month. Shiva Shayana Chaturdasi 2018 date is July 26. The popular belief is that Hindu God Shiva enters into meditation for four months – the Chaturmas period. This period is quite similar to the Chatur Mas associated with Vishnu.

Shiva Shayana Chaturdasi is mainly observed by Shaiva Sect.

The popular belief is that Shiva during the period of four months destroys all sins and helps devotees in the path of Moksha. It is believed that Shiva ushers in peace and prosperity. A legend suggests that the Lord ties all sins with Jada (hair) and sleeps on a tiger skin.

In some regions, Shiva Shaynotsav and Shiv Dolotsav are organized during the period.

You may also like to read Chatur Mas Vrata – The Four Holy Month in Hindu Lunar Calendar

Different Meanings of Guru from Guru Gita

The syllable ‘Gu’ is the darkness and the syllable ‘Ru’ is said to be light. There is no doubt that the Guru is indeed the Supreme Knowledge that dispels (the darkness of) ignorance. ‘Gu’ Kara means the darkness and ‘Ru’ Kara means the remover of the darkness. On account of the power of removing darkness, the teacher is known by the significant name ‘Guru’. The letter ‘Gu’ denotes that He is beyond the three Gunas and ‘Ru’ denotes that He is beyond forms. Because He is free from Gunas and forms, He is called the Guru.The first syllable ‘Gu’ represents the principles such as maya and the second syllable ‘Ru’ the supreme knowledge that destroys the illusions of maya. Guru Gita (Verses 33 to 36)