Hindu New Year 2015 - The New Year Dates of Different Hindu Communities in 2015

Different communities in Hindu religion have different dates for New Year in a calendar year. Below are the Hindu New Year dates in 2015. The numerous communities that are part of Hinduism follow independent calendars and the New Year Day of a particular Hindu community in these calendars are based on seasons and the agrarian economy of the region. Here is a list of the New Year dates in Hindu religion.

Pongal – January 15, 2015 – The Government of Tamil Nadu had made Pongal as the Tamil New Year. (This decision was revoked by the present government.) But majority of the calendars of the various Tamil communities continue to mark Tamil New Year on Chithira 1 (Mid-April).

Ugadi – March 21, 2015 – New Year in Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh.

Gudi Padva –  March 21, 2015  – New Year in Maharashtra.

Nav Varsh Samvat or Hindi New Year –  March 21, 2015 – This New Year is observed in major states in North India and it is also known as Chaitra Shukladi. Vikram Samvat 2072 begins.

Cheti Chand –  March 22, 2015 – The New Year day of Sindhis

Saka New Year – March 22, 2015 – This New Year is based on the calendar followed by the Government of India. The Saka Year 1937 Begins

Varsha Pirappu or Puthandu – April 14, 2015 – The Tamil New Year

Vishu – April 15, 2015  – Malayalam Zodiac New Year in Kerala

Naba Barsha or Poila Baisakh – April 15, 2015 – New Year in Bengal - Year 1422 as per traditional calendar begins

Rongali Bihu or Bohag Bihu – April 15, 2015 – New Year in Assam

Kutchi New Year - July 17, 2015 - New Year in Kutch Region in Gujarat

Chingam 1 – August 17, 2015 – New Year according to Malayalam Calendar. The Year 1191 begins in this calendar

Hindu Vikram New Year – November 12, 2015 – Gujarati New Year - Vikram Samvat 2072 begins.