--> Skip to main content

Hetu-Udaya Bhagavata – Text On Shunya Brahma

Hetu-Udaya Bhagavata is a fascinating text that delves into the concept of Shunya Brahma, composed by Ananta Dasa in the 16th century CE. This text provides detailed insights into the worship and meditation practices associated with Shunya Brahma, which can be understood as akin to Brahman, the ultimate reality in Hindu philosophy.

The foundational practice outlined in the text emphasizes the importance of controlling the mind and invoking the guidance of the guru through the recitation of the guru-mantra. The guru is regarded as the beacon of spiritual wisdom who can lead the disciple on the path of enlightenment.

Central to the meditation practice is the visualization of the dhavala-mandala, or the mystic marriage center, within the heart of the devotee. This mandala is envisioned as being adorned with the brilliance of pure gold and surrounded by pillars crafted from eight precious gems. Within this sacred pavilion, the divine couple Radha and Krishna, symbolizing the union of the individual soul (jiva) and the divine (Parama), merge. By witnessing this divine union, which mirrors the essence of Shunya Purusha, the Supreme Absolute, the individual soul attains liberation.

Ananta Dasa further elaborates on the correlation between the microcosm of the human body (pinda) and the macrocosm of the universe (brahmanda). He delineates five mandalas, or mystic centers, within the body, each representing different aspects of spiritual evolution:

  1. Shunya Mandala: Extending from the head to the throat.
  2. Hridaya Mandala: Spanning from the throat to the heart.
  3. Agni Mandala: Encompassing the region from the heart to the navel.
  4. Varuna Mandala: Stretching from the navel to the knees.
  5. Prithvi Mandala: Extending from the knees to the feet.

The text also discusses the intricate network of nadis (subtle energy channels) within the body, including the Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna, which intersect these mandalas and give rise to the Triveni, or three streams of energy flow.

Furthermore, Ananta Dasa describes the presence of a thousand-petalled lotus surrounding the mandalas, within which Shunya Brahma revolves. Through focused meditation on any of these mandalas, the devotee can establish a profound connection with Shunya Brahma, leading to spiritual realization and union with the ultimate reality.

In parallel to the concept of chakras in Hindu esoteric tradition, these mandalas serve as inner energy centers facilitating the practitioner's journey towards spiritual enlightenment. Additionally, the text delineates the intricate cosmology of the body, comprising fourteen brahmandas (worlds), five manas (minds), and twenty-five prakritis (aspects), further enriching its metaphysical framework.