Skip to main content


Showing posts from January 2, 2017

Siddheshwar Mahadev in Ujjain – Story of Siddheshwar Form of Shiva – 11th Shiva Temple in Ujjain

Siddheshwar Mahadev is worshiped in Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh. It is one of the 84 forms of Shiva worshiped in Ujjain. Those offering prayers to Siddheshwar will be blessed with various Siddhis.

The temple dedicated to Siddheshwar Mahadev is located at Siddhanath in Ujjain.

This form of Shiva is associated with a pious man named Ekachitra.

Siddheshwar Mahadev is counted among the 84 Shiva Temples in Ujjain and it is the 11th temple visited during the parikrama of Shivalayas here.

Story of Siddheshwar Mahadev form of Shiva in Ujjain

Ekachitra did intense penance for several years but he was not able to achieve anything. He became angry and started criticizing gods and their worship. He soon turned into a nonbeliever.

Then one day Ekachitra had a dream. In it he was asked to go to Mahakaal Vana (present day Ujjain) and offer prayers to a particular Shivling.
Ekachitra discovered the Shivling in Mahakaal Vana and offered prayers. Soon he attained various Siddhis. From that day onwards, t…

Vaikunta Dwadasi at Tirumala Tirupati Balaji Temple

The day after the famous Vaikunta Ekadasi is known as Vaikunta Dwadasi at Tirumala Tirupati Balaji Temple. At dawn on the day the famous ‘Sri Swami Pushkarini Teertha Mukkoti’ occurs. Vaikunta Dwadasi 2018 date is December 19 at Tirumala Tirupati Balaji Temple.

It is believed that during Vaikunta Ekadasi all the three crores of Holy Teerthas join in Sri Swami Pushkarini waters (pond) located in the Tirumala Tirupati Balaji Temple complex.

On the morning of Vaikunta Dwadasi, Chakrasnanam is held at the Tirumala Temple.

Later Sri ‘Sudarshana Chakrattalwar’ (Sudarshana Chakra of Vishnu) is taken out from the Ananda Nilayam in procession around the Srivari temple and brought to Sri Varahaswami temple.

After Abhishekam, at the time of ‘Chakrasnanam’ devotees bathe in these sacred waters of pushkarini and purify themselves.

Chakrattalwar is then offered Vastralankaram, Naivedyam and Harati in a splendid manner.
Later Chakrattalwar is taken to Srivari temple.

Garuda Temple in Kerala - Triprangode Garuda Temple in Malappuram District in Kerala

An exclusive temple dedicated to Garuda, the half eagle half man, is very rare. One such rare Garuda Temple is located at Triprangode in Malappuram District in Kerala. The temple is located around 8 km from Tirur Railway Station and it is around 5 km from Thirunavaya.

The main murti worshipped in the shrine is Garuda.

There is also a murti of Kurma Avatar of Vishnu in the temple.

The temple is also known as Garudan Kavu.

Garudan Kavu Temple timings: Morning 5:00 AM to 10:00 AM Evening 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM

The one who is full of love is always happy – Dadi Janki

The one who is full of love is always happy.

When we are full of love for everyone, there is no space for negativity. This unselfish love means that we have only positive thoughts and experience constant happiness.

To see things as they are is to be free from negativity.
We tend to color what we see according to our past experiences and our attitudes and beliefs. When our experiences of the past are negative, we tend to become negative too. This is why some situations tend to bring about sorrow and unhappy feelings.
– Dadi Janki

Why Bhagavad Gita advises not to revel in sense pleasures?

Today’s Hindu Calendar – January 2, 2017 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on Monday, January 2, 2017 (Today) – Shukla Paksha Chaturthi Tithi or the fourth day during the waxing phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in most regions. It is Shukla Paksha Chaturthi Tithi or the fourth day during the waxing phase of moon till 2:10 PM on January 2. Then onward it is Shukla Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the waxing phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
How is January 2, 2017 as per Hindu Panchang? – It is a good and auspicious date after 3:50 PM. Nakshatra – Dhanishta or Sravishta orAvittam Nakshatra till 3:09 PM on January 2. Then onward it is Shatabhisha or Sadayam or Chathayam Nakshatram.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and south Rajasthan), it is Dhanishta or Sravishta or Avittam Nakshatra till 4:51 PM on January 2. Then onward it is Shatabhisha or Sadayam or Chathayam Nakshatram.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Makar Rashi till 3:37 AM. Then onward it is Kumbha Rashi.
In western parts of Ind…