Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 14, 2016

Kalkaleshwar Mahadev in Ujjain – Story of Kalkaleshwar Form of Shiva – 18th Shiva Temple in Ujjain

Kalkaleshwar Mahadev is worshiped in Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh. It is one of the 84 forms of Shiva worshiped in Ujjain. Those offering prayers to Kalkaleshwar Mahadev will never have to face fights in life.

The temple dedicated to Kalkaleshwar Mahadev is located at Modi ki gali in Ujjain.

This form of Shiva is associated with a fight between Shiva and Goddess Parvati.

Kalkaleshwar Mahadev is counted among the 84 Shiva Temples in Ujjain and it is the 18th temple visited during the parikarama of Shivalayas here.

Story of Kalkaleshwar Mahadev form of Shiva in Ujjain Once, Lord Shiva made fun of the skin tone of Goddess Parvati. He told her that she was kali, or had dark complexion. This led to a big fight between the divine couple. The entire universe shook and there was chaos all around. All living beings prayed for peace.

Then a Shivling appeared on earth and it brought peace in the universe.

As the Shivling brought peace in the universe, the Devas called it Kalkaleshwar Mahadev.
It is…

Vajapeya Ritual

Vajapeya is an important Vedic ritual. It is one of the seven basic Soma rituals. Vajapeya is derived from ‘Vajam’ meaning cooked food and ‘peyam’ meaning drink. The ritual was first performed by Brihaspati. Later he performed it for Indira. Vajapeya Ritual can be performed by all people.

Vajapeya yajna lasts for 17 days. The number seventeen of is great importance in the ritual.

The sacred pole Yupa is set up for 17 days. The pole is decorated with 17 pieces of cloth, 17 priests conduct the ritual, the performer makes a ceremonial journey with 17 chariots and on the last day soma is offered in 17 vessels.

Even the gifts or dakshina are also given in 17 numbers.

This is also one of the rare Vedic rituals in which alcohol is prepared through fermentation. After the rituals, the alcohol is offered to Vaishyas.

The ritual is rarely performed today.

Grief over any matter is born of ignorance – Swami Tejomayananda

Do not grieve over the past, nor fear the future. Certain events just happen in life and it is up to us to accept them. Life, at every moment demands decisions and actions from us.

Grief over any matter is born of ignorance.

If we grieve over the past and worry about the future, we are not able to deal effectively with what is presently before us. Therefore, the only true choice give to us is how to deal with the present moment.
Our experiences and moods change according to the contact with the sense objects. Experiences come and go. Therefore it is of no use to complain about anything; instead we should endure all that we encounter in life bravely.
– Swami Tejomayananda
Source – Vision of the Bhagavad Gita by Swami Tejomayananda