Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 4, 2016

Nitya Teerth

Teerth yatra is an important part of Hindu tradition. Teerth means a sacred place which helps a person in redemption of sins. Yatra means journey. Teerth in Hindu tradition is divided into three and the first is the Nitya Teerth, second is Bhagavadiya Teerth and Sant Teerth.

Nitya Teerths are those sacred places that existed from the beginning of time. They always exist – before creation and after creation. During the delusion, the Nitya Teerth is not affected. They remain as the same during each cycle of creation.
The three Nitya Teerths are Kashi, Kailash and Mansarovar. All these are associated with Shiva.
Apart from these three, GangaRiver, NarmadaRiver, GodavariRiver and KaveriRiver are also considered as Nitya Teerth. Bathing in holy rivers has always been considered as a means to redemption of sins and for attaining moksha.

Sarayu River –Holiness and Greatness of Sarayu River in Hinduism

Sarayu is one of the sacred rivers in the Ramayana. Its holiness and greatness in Hinduism is associated with Bhagavan Sri Ram. The holy city of Ayodhya is located on the banks of Sarayu River.

It is a tributary of Ganga River and one who takes bath in the river will be absolved of all sins.

Legend has it that once Sage Vasishta blocked the course of Ganga on its way to Kailash at Manasarovar. But Ganga broke the obstacle and flowed on as Sarayu River.

It is one of the holy rivers to be remembered by Hindus at dawn and dusk.

Bhagavan Sri Ram and Lakshman entered the Sarayu River and disappeared from earth.
Every year during Ram Navami, thousands of people take holy dip in the Sarayu River.

Yama Smriti

Yama Smriti is one of the earliest Hindu smritis (code of laws). It deals with expiation, purification and propitiatory rituals for the ancestors. Although scholars consider it as a minor smriti, Yama is enumerated in the famous Yajnavalkya Smriti as a lawgiver. So the text is considered important by many.

There are several versions of Yama Smriti available. Some of these texts include in parts topics related to Dharmasashtra like legal procedures and polity.

A substantial part of the Yama Smriti is devoted to prescription of expiatory atonement to various types of guilts, misdeeds and impieties, committed consciously or otherwise.
A great portion of the text is also devoted to dos and don’ts relating to Shradha – ritualistic propitiation of the dead ancestors.

I see, but I do not see – Nisargadatta Maharaj

All thoughts, all desires, holy or unholy, come from the self. They all depend upon  the desire to be happy and, therefore, are based on the sense 'I am'. Their quality will depend on one's psyche (Antahkarana) and on the degrees at which the three Gunas prevail. Tamas produces restraint and perversions; Rajas produces energy and passions; and Sattva produces harmony and the urge to make others happy.

When an object is seen as an object, there would have to be a subject other than the object. As the Jnani perceives, there is neither the subject that sees nor the object that is seen; only the 'seeing'. In other words, the Jnani's perception is prior to any interpretation by the sensory faculties. Even if the normal process of objectification has taken place, the Jnani, in his perspective, has taken note of this fact and seen the false as false. The Jnani in his undivided vision, has perceived that physically both the seer and the seen are objects, and that the …