Skip to main content


Showing posts from July 11, 2016

Shiva Represents Which among Five Elements in Panchayatana form of Worship

Panchayatana form of worship introduced by Adi Shankaracharya has assigned one element to one of the five deities in Hinduism. Shiva is the embodiment of Pirthvi Mahabhuta (earth) among the five elements. The five elements are ether/space, air, fire, water and earth. The five deities in Panchayatana form of worship are Vishnu, Mother Goddess, Ganesha, Surya and Shiva.

In this concept, the five deities are worshipped in the form of sacred stones found in five holy rivers.
Shiva, the embodiment of Prithvi Mahabhuta, is worshipped in the form of Banalinga found in Narmada River in Madhya Pradesh.

Aravindalochanar Temple at Tolaivilimangalam in Thoothukudi in Tamil Nadu – Ninth Nava Tirupati Temple Associated with Navgraha Ketu

Aravindalochanar Temple, also known as Thirutholaivillimangalam Aravinda Losanar Temple or Erattai Tirupati, is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. It is one of the Nava Tirupati Temples and one among 108 Divya Desams. This is the ninth Nava Tirupathi Temple and is associated with Navagraha Ketu. The shrine is located 10 km east of Sri Vaikuntam.
The place is mentioned by Nammalvar and is known as Erattai Tirupati because there are two temples located here.
Story of Aravindalochanar Temple Legend has it that Lord Vishnu gave darshan to Saint Suprabar here at Thirutholaivillimangalam. The saint used to worship Lord Vishnu daily with lotus flowers. Srihari Vishnu appeared adorned with Lotus flowers hence the name Aravindalochanar.
Lord Vishnu is worshipped here as Aravindalochanar. The murti faces east and is in standing posture. Urchavar is known as Senthamaraikannan
Consort of Vishnu worshipped here is Karunthadakanni Thaayar.
The shrine is located on the banks of Thamiraparani River.
The sacr…

Sashti Viratham August 2017 date – Muruga Shasti Fasting in August 2017

Shasti Fasting in August 2017 in based on calendars followed in South India. Sashti Viratham is a monthly fasting dedicated to Hindu god Muruga (known as Kartik in North and western parts of India). Sashti Viratham August 2017 date is August 27. It is observed on the sixth day during the Shukla Paksha or bright phase of moon as per a traditional Hindu calendar. Special pujas and rituals are also held on the day in Muruga Temples.
There are two Sashti fasting dates in a month one each during the waxing phase of moon and another during the waning phase of moon. Most devotees fast during the Sashti falling during waxing phase of moon.
Fasting on Sashti is considered highly beneficial and some devotees observe a complete fast for 24 hours.
Muruga, also known as Shanmukha and Subramanian, is widely worshipped in South India, Singapore, Malaysia and Sri Lanka especially by Tamilians. In North India, Lord Muruga is known as Kartik or Kartikeya.
You may also like to read How to do or observe S…

Conquest of mind leads to the attainment of everything – Yoga Vasishta

The mind is terrible (ghoram) in the waking state, gentle (santam) in the dream state, dull (mudham) in deep sleep and dead when not in any of these three states.

Just as the powder of the kataka seed, after precipitating the dirt in water, becomes merged in the water, so also the mind (after removing all impressions) itself becomes merged (in the Self ).

The mind is samsara; the mind is also said to be bondage; the body is activated by the mind just as a tree is shaken by the wind.

The only god to be conquered is the mind. Its conquest leads to the attainment of everything. Without its conquest all other efforts are fruitless.

To be unperturbed is the foundation of blessedness (Sri). One attains liberation by it. To human beings even the conquest of the three worlds, without the conquest of the mind, is as insignificant as a blade of grass.
– Yoga Vasishta