Skip to main content


Showing posts from August 27, 2013

What are the 16 Kalas of Lord Krishna? – Meaning of 16 Kalas of Sri Krishna

The 16 Kalas of Sri Krishna are the divine arts or attributes of Sri Krishna that makes him Purna Avatar – the complete avatar. What are the 16 Kalas of Lord Krishna? Below are the meanings of each Kala in English.

1. Daya – Compassion 2. Dharjya – Patience 3. Kshama – Forgiveness 4. Nyaya – Justice 5. Nirapeksha – Impartiality 6. Niraskata – Detachment 7. Tapasya – Meditation and Spiritual Powers 8. Aparchitta – Invincibility 9. Danasheel – Beneficience, Bestower of all wealth in the world and nature. 10. Saundarjyamaya – Beauty Incarnate 11. Nrityajna – Best of Dancers 12. Sangitajna – Best of Singers 13. Neetibadi – Embodiment of Honesty 14. Satyabadi – Truth Itself 15. Sarvagnata – Perfect master of all arts, such as poetry, drama, painting etc. 16. Sarvaniyanta – Controller of All
Source – Orissa Review Magazine published by Government of Orissa.

Why is Sri Krishna Blue in Color? Reason for Krishna Being Blue Skinned

Pushya Nakshatra 2014 time and dates - Pushya Birth Star Date in 2014 in Hindu Calendar

Pushya, or Pushyami or Pusya, is one among the 27 nakshatras. Below are Pushya Nakshatra 2014 dates and time based on Hindu Calendar and and Panchang as per India Standard Time. The day Pushya Nakshatra falls is considered highly auspicious for beginning new ventures, investments and purchases.When the day falls on Thursday it is known as Guru pushya amrut and is highly auspicious. Today, Pushya Nakshatra is the ideal day for many people for buying Gold and Jewellery. According to Hindu astrology, the favorable alignment of the stars on Pushya Nakshatra day results in prosperity, success and happiness.

Pushya Nakshatra Days as per Indian Standard Time in 2014:

January 17, 2014 From 12:34 PM on January 16 to 3:10 PM on January 17
February 13, 2014 From 7:45 PM on February 12 to 10:23 PM on February 13 (Guru Pushya Yog on Feb 13)
March 12, 2014 From 2:52 AM on March 12 to 5:30 AM on March 13
April 9, 2014 From 10:00 AM on April 8 to 12:36 PM on April 9
May 6, 2014 From 5:16 PM on May …

Punarvasu Nakshatra Date and Time in 2014 – Punarpoosam Birth Star dates in 2014

Punarvasu Nakshatra 2014 dates and time based on traditional Hindu calendar, Astrology and Panchangam. Punarvasu Birth Star also known as Punarpoosam in South India, is the seventh Nakshatra among the 27 Nakshatras. Below are Punarvasu Nakshatra dates in 2014. The astrological prediction of Punarvasu Nakshatra as per Moon Sign is that of Mithuna Raasi and Kataka Rashi. As per Hindu astrology birth star Punarvasu Nakshatra, falls under Mithuna Raasi or Gemini Zodiac and also Kataka Rasi or Cancer Zodiac. The first ¾ part of Punarvasu is in Mithuna Rashi and the last quarter is in Kataka Rashi. Mercury or Budha is the Lord of the birth star of the first three quarters. Chandra or moon is the Lord of the last quarter. The lucky color of Ardra is grey or Lead.

Punarvasu Nakshatra Days in 2014 as per Indian Standard Time (IST)

January 16, 2014 From 9:58 AM on January 15 to 12:33 PM on January 16
February 12, 2014 From 5:23 PM on February 11 to 7:44 PM on February 12
March 11, 2014 From 1…

Diwali Postage Stamps in United States – Efforts are on to Issue Diwali Stamps

Several United States lawmakers have urged to the US Postal Service to issue a postage stamp on Diwali in 2014.  The Hindu reports
“The fight to have the Postal Service issue a Diwali commemorative stamp can be decided next week,” Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney said.
“For those who care about a Diwali stamp, it’s imperative that they write the Citizens Advisory Stamp Commission now,” Ms. Malony said.
Ms. Malony was joined by two other lawmakers, Ami Bera and Tulsi Gabbard to meet Scott Slusher, Manager of Government Liaison at the US Postal Service, to urge selection of Diwali as the topic for issuance of a commemorative stamp in 2014.
The Citizens Advisory Committee of the US Postal Service is scheduled to meet on July 18.
Mr. Bera is the only serving Indian American Congressman, and the third ever, in the current Congress, while Ms. Gabbard is the first Hindu Congresswomen.

Hindu Teachings on Purity of Mind

One cannot see God without purity of heart. Through attachment to woman and gold the mind has become stained – covered with dirt, as it were. A magnet cannot attract a needle if the needle is covered with mud. Wash away the mud and the magnet will draw it. Like wise, the dirt of the mind can be washed away with the tears of our eyes. This stain is removed if one sheds tears of repentance and says, ‘O God, I shall never again do such a thing.’ There upon God, who is like the magnet, draws Himself the mind, which is like the needle. (The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna, 173 – 4).
Where is God? He is where the world is not. If you wish to go to God, you must turn your back on the world. The senses must be controlled and turned in the opposite direction. God is seated in the heart; so all your sense energies and mental energies must converge to that one point and take you there. But this can be done only when you realize that He is the best, the highest, in the whole universe. (Swami Ramakrish…

Today’s Hindu Calendar – August 27, 2013 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on August 27, 2013 (Today) – Krishna Paksha Saptami Tithi or seventh day of the waning phase of moon in Hindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is Krishna Paksha Sashti Tithi or the sixth day during the waning phase of moon till 2:51 AM on August 27. Then onward it is Krishna Paksha Saptami Tithi or the seventh day during the waning phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
Nakshatra – Bharani Nakshatra till 1:29 PM. Then onward it is Kartika or Krithigai or Karthigai Nakshatram.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Mesha Rasi till 7:57 PM. Then onward it is Vrishabha Rashi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days – 
Kali Yuga Year – 5115
Vikram Samvant 2070 – Bhadrapad Krishna Paksha Saptami Tithi or seventh day of the waning phase of moon in Bhadrapad month in calendars followed in North India - Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Jammu and Kashmir.
Vijayanama S…