Skip to main content


Showing posts from August 14, 2013

Sugriva Fights Ravana in the Ramayana

Before the actual battle in the Ramayana begins, Sugriva acts impulsively and jumps toward Lanka to fight Ravana. In anger he rushes towards Ravana who was standing on the terrace of his palace.
Ravana was surprised by the visit of Sugriva. But Ravana gained his composure and got hold of Sugriva and pushed him to the ground.
Sugriva then caught hold of Ravana and threw him down.
The two then was engaged in wrestling and both were wounded.
When Ravana realized that he cannot defeat Sugriva in combat, he adapted Maya (magic). Ravana began to disappear and appear to confuse Sugriva.
Sugriva who realized his limitations jumped back to where the Vanara army was stationed.
Rama then chided Sugriva for acting impulsively. Rama said that he cannot bear the loss of Sugriva and he should not act rashly again.

Vaijayanti Mala – Garland – Necklace of Vishnu – Vaijayantimala

Vaijayanti Mala is the long garland or necklace worn by Bhagvan Vishnu. Symbolically this garland made of gems implies victory. Vaijayantimala is made upon five gems – Pancharatnas. The five gems are pearl, ruby, sapphire, diamond and emerald.

The five gems – mukta, manikya, nila, vajra and marakata – are also associated with Panchabhootas – five elements of nature.
Vishnu Purana states that Vaijayantimala is also known as Bhuta Mala as it is associated with the five elements.
It must be noted that in some scriptures especially in Vishnurahasya, ruby, diamond and emerald are replaced by Kaustubha, cat’s eye (gomedakam) and Topaz (pusparagam).
Kaustubha is a jewel associated with Vishnu only. It appeared during the churning of ocean and Vishnu wears it.
Thus in this description Vaijayanti Mala is made up of Kaustubha, cat’s eye, topaz, pearl and sapphire. As per this description Sapphire represents earth, pearl represents water, kausthubha represents fire, cat’s eye represents air and…

Paramakudi Muthalamman Temple in Tamil Nadu

MuthalammanTemple is located at Paramakudi in Tamil Nadu and the shrine is dedicated to Muthala Parameswari or Muthalamman, a manifestation of Goddess Shakti. The temple is located on the banks of VaigaiRiver. The murti of Muthala Parameswari Amman is in kind and benevolent form. She has four arms and holds Trident, Kabala (skull), Kataka and damaruka. Her Vehicle lion is also present in the sanctum sanctorum.
The most important festivals in the temple are Panguni Brahmotsavam, Aadi and Masi festivals and Navratri. The Masi festival of showering flowers attracts thousands of people. The murti of Goddess is completely covered with flowers in the ritual. The Panguni Brahmotsavam is of great significance. In the Brahmotsavam, Muthalamman gives darshan to devotees riding on a Rishabha.
The temple also has murtis of Nagas, Marthandi Amman, Pothiraja, Karuppaswami and Hanuman.
The temple is an important shrine in the region for Naga Dosha. Mother Goddess is believed to cure diseases and also…

Online Course in Making Clay Ganesh Idol – Learn to make clay eco-friendly Ganapati Murti for Vinayaka Chaturthi

If you are interested in making eco-friendly clay Ganesh idol for this Vinayaka Chaturthi, then Pune-based Mandar Marathe is offering online course in making clay Ganapati Murti. He is also offering course at his workshop in Pune. The online course is priced at $30.
This course is divided into 4 sections. Making the basic structure, modelling the 4 hands, making the face, the trunk and lastly, adding ornaments and other details to the idol.
The course has videos that have cumulative run time of about 3.25 hours.
You can find more details about the course here.

Sthanu Shiva – Story of Shiva as Sthanu Rudra

Sthanu Shiva is one among the numerous forms of Shiva. Story of Sthanu Rudra, information about this form and mantras are found in the Shaivagam. Sthanu Rudra is the motionless pillar which is above time and dimensions. The cycles of time move around him. Creation, sustenance and destruction are willed by him. Symbolically Sthanu is timeless, motionless state of Samadhi.
Shaivagam also gives a simple picture of Shiva. It states that Sthanu Shiva sits in profound meditation. He is worshiped by all beings. Goddess Parvati sits on his left side.
It is stated that Sthanu Rudra on the request of living beings, comes out of his motionless state and takes Goddess Parvati as his wife. He plays various leelas for the welfare of the people.
Legend has it that demon Tarakasur was creating havoc in the universe. The demon had got the boon from Brahma that only a son born of Shiva would annihilate him. The demon had learned that after the death of Sati, Shiva has entered into a timeless and motio…

Brahma Upanishad on the Supreme Indestructible One

Purusha has four seats, the navel, the heart, the throat, and the head. In these shines forth the Brahman with four aspects: the state of wakefulness, of dream, of dreamless sleep, and the fourth or transcendental state.
In the wakeful state, He is Brahma; in the dreaming state, He is Vishnu; in dreamless sleep He is Rudra; and the fourth state is the Supreme Indestructible One; and He again is the Sun, the Vishnu, the Ishwara, He is the Purusha, He is the Prana, He is the Jiva or the animate being, He is the Fire, The Ishwara, and the Resplendent; (yea) that Brahman which is transcendent shines within all these!
In Itself, It is devoid of mind, of ears, of hands and feet, of light. There neither are the worlds existing nor non-existing, neither are the Vedas or the Devas or the sacrifices existing nor non-existing, neither is the mother or father or daughter-in-law existing nor non-existing, neither is Chandala’s son or Pulkasa’s son existing nor non-existing, neither is the mendic…