--> Skip to main content

Navarna Mantra Dedicated To Goddess Durga

The Navarna Mantra, also known as Navakshari, holds significant importance in the recitation of Devi Mahatmya, also known as the Durga Saptashati or the Chandi. It comprises nine syllables: aim, hrim, klim, chamundaye, and vicce. Each syllable symbolizes various aspects of the Divine Mother, Durga, and the individual's journey towards spiritual liberation.

The first three syllables, aim, hrim, and klim, represent Mahasaraswati, Mahalakshmi, and Mahakali, respectively, embodying the three primary aspects of the Divine Mother. These syllables also signify the eternal states of Sat (existence), Chit (consciousness), and Ananda (bliss).

The word 'vicce' consists of three parts: vit, ca, and e, representing the physical, vital, and mental states of individuals. 'Chamundaye' refers to Chamunda, a form of the Divine Mother.

The complete meaning of the mantra is understood as seeking the grace of Mother Chamunda to transcend the limitations of the physical, vital, and mental states, elevating oneself to the highest state of Sat-chit-ananda.

Each letter of the mantra corresponds to a specific color, representing different spectra that can be perceived in inner contemplation:

  1. aim: moon-like lustre
  2. hrim: effulgence of the sun
  3. klim: blazing fire
  4. cha: shining golden color
  5. mun: deep red
  6. da: deep blue
  7. yai: black
  8. vi: white
  9. cce: smoky hue

The chanting of the Navarna Mantra is typically done as part of the recitation of the Durga Saptashati, although it can also be practiced independently, albeit less commonly.