--> Skip to main content

Mala Yoga in Hindu Astrology

Mala Yoga in Hindu astrology comes into being, by the definition given in the standard text, if all the seven planets occupy the seven houses contiguously, reckoned from the lagna (ascendant) or any particular bhava (house).

There can be twelve mala yogas reckoned from the lagna or any other particular bhava. The results are the following for the 12 mala yogas –

  1. Lagan (reckoned from the first house) – malika – king, ruler or commander, wealthy.
  2. Dhava (reckoned from the second house) – malika – very wealthy, dutiful, resolute and unsympathetic.
  3. Vikrama (reckoned from the third house) – malika – ruler, rich, surrounded by brave men.
  4. Sukha (reckoned from the fourth house) – malika – charitable and wealthy.
  5. Putra (reckoned from the fifth house) – malika – highly religious and famous.
  6. Shani (reckoned from the sixth house) – malika – greedy and somewhat poor.
  7. Kalatra (reckoned from the seventh house) – malika – coveted by women and influential.
  8. Randhara (reckoned from the eighth house) – malika – poor and hen-pecked
  9. Bhagya (reckoned from the ninth house) – malika – religious, well-to-do, mighty and good.
  10. Karma (reckoned from the tenth house) – malika – respected and virtuous.
  11. Labha (reckoned from the eleventh house) – malika – sportive, enjoyer of lovely women.
  12. Vyaya (reckoned from the twelfth house) – malika – honored, liberal and respected.

Bhavartha Ratnakara makes a departure from this and suggests that the mala yogas should always commence from the lagna and be reckoned with five to nine houses from the lagna.