--> Skip to main content

Kollam Thirumala Temple – Sri Venkatachalapathy Swamy Temple

Sri Venkatachalapathy Swamy Temple, popularly known as Kollam Thirumala Devaswom Temple, is dedicated to Venkatachalapathy form of Vishnu Bhagavan. This is one among the numerous temples Gowda Saraswat Brahmins in Kerala.

The main murti is flanked by Lakshmi Devi and Bhu Devi. Another important deity worshipped here is Varadaraja Murti.

The Upa Devatas worshipped in the temple are Lakshmi Devi, Ganapathy, Hanuman, Yogeeswaran and Dharma Daivangal.

As per history the temple was consecrated in kollavarsham 999 Makayiram nakshatra in Makaram month (January 1822 CE). The temple popular belief is that the murti worshipped here was brought by Govinda Vadhyar from Goa.

The annual festival in the temple is observed in Meenam month.