--> Skip to main content

Chittumala Devi Temple – History – Important Facts

Chittumala Devi Temple, also known as Chittumala Sree Durga Devi temple, is located at Kizhakke Kallada in Kollam district, Kerala. The temple is one among the 108 Durga temples in Kerala.

The shrine has a considerably big circular sanctum sanctorum (vatta sreekovil). The darshanam of Chittumala Sree Durga Devi is towards east.

The Upa Devatas worshipped in the temple are Shiva, Ganapathi, Parvathi, Rakshas, Brahmarakshas, Madan and Arukola.

The annual festival in the temple begins with kodiyettam on Rohini nakshatra in Meenam month and ends with Arattu on Pooram nakshatra.

As per local belief, the murti was discovered by a Kurava woman who was cutting grass. Her sickle hit the murti and blood started oozing out and this led to the discovery of the presence of Devi in the area.

As per history, the temple was the main worship center of Desinganadu. When Marthanda Varma conquered Desinganadu, the shrine came under his control. Vadayatta Yeman paid 10,000 varaham and got the control of the temple from the Travancore king.

It is said that earlier three festivals were held in a year.