--> Skip to main content

Kanya Rashi – The Sixth Zodiac Sign in Hindu Astrology – All About Kanya Rashi

Kanya Rashi is the fourth Zodiac sign in Hindu astrology. It is known as Virgo in English. The longitude of Karka Rashi is 30 degrees and it extends from 150 degrees from the vernal equinox to 180 degrees. The first 15 degrees of Kanya Rashi show characteristics of fixed sign and the rest 15 degrees of a movable sign.

The birth stars or nakshatras that constitutes this sign are:
  • The last three quarters of Uttaraphalguni or Uthiram nakshatra
  • All four quarters of Hasta or Hastam or Hastam nakshatra
  • The first half or two quarters of Chitra or Chithirai or Chithira nakshatra
Kanya is a northern sign of the zodiac but its influential direction is south.

Symbol of Kanya Rashi is a maiden seated on a boat, holding fire and green plant. The rashi represents the stomach of Kalapurusha (eternal time). The symbol crab has nothing to do with the characteristics of people born in the Rashi.

The ruler of the Rashi is Mercury or Budha.

Shukra (venus) and Surya (sun) are friendly grahas of Kanya Rashi.

Chandra (moon) and Budha are unfriendly grahas.

Neutral grahas with the rashi are Mangal (mars), Jupiter (Brihaspati or Guru) and Saturn (Shani).

Kanya Rashi represents gardens, wet and dry lands, cornfields, granaries, hotels and restaurants, libraries, places of artisans and places that sell sex.

Kanya Rashi is earthy and is associated with traders. It is also feminine in nature.

It is associated with water and has a dual nature.

The rashi is blind at noon but strong during the other part of day.

Kanya rashi is auspicious as it represent living beings and it rises with its head first. It also falls under the state of equilibrium as per astrology.

A person born in the rashi is inconsistent. The person will keep changing house, job and city. This rashi born people are organized, careful about wealth and is fond of plants. They will be interested in agriculture.