--> Skip to main content

Panch Teerth in Hinduism

Panch Teerth in Hinduism are the five holy places where Hindus can take a holy dip to wash away the sins and attain moksha (liberation). Panch Teerth are:
  • Pushkar
  • Kurukshetra
  • Gaya
  • Haridwar
  • Prayag (Allahabad)
At Pushkar, devotees take a holy dip from Kartik Shukla Ekadasi (November) to Kartik Purnima. The five days are considered highly auspicious.

Holy dip taken during Grahan (eclipse) at Kurukshetra is meritorious. Thousands of devotees participate in the holy dip in the lake here during Solar Eclipse.

Gaya is famous for Shradh. Taking a holy dip and performing rituals here liberate the souls of the ancestors.

Haridwar is the gateway to Dev Bhumi and taking a holy dip in the Ganga washes away all sins.

Prayag (Allahabad) is the spot where three holy rivers – Ganga, Yamuna, and Saraswati – meet. It is considered meritorious to take a holy dip here during Kumbh Mela, Magh Mela, and Ardh Kumbh Mela.

Did you know Haridwar is also one among the Saptapuri – seven holy cities in Hinduism? The general belief is that by visiting these cities one escapes from the endless cycle of births and deaths.

Know more about seven holy cities in Hinduism.