Skip to main content


Showing posts from June 1, 2016

Peepal Pujan – Pipal Puja

Peepal Pujan, or Pipal Puja, is the worship of the peepal tree especially during the Vat Savitri puja. Peepal Puja 2018 date is May 15. During Vat Savitri Puja, the Banayan or Pipal Tree symbolically represents Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. The root of Vat Vriksha is Brahma, the stem is Vishnu and the upper part is Shiva. Those observing it on Jyeshta Purnima will be performing it on June 27, 2018.

The Peepal tree plays an important role in the famous Satyavan Savitri legend in the Mahabharata. It is believed that Satyavan spend his last moments under a Pipal tree on the full moon day in month of Jyeshtha (for some communities in North India it is the Amavasya day or no moon day in Jyeshta month). And Yamraj appeared here and Savitri pleaded with Yamraj under the Pipal tree. Through her determination, courage, intelligence and dedication, she was able to bring back her husband to life.

In memory of this event, women go round the Pipal for 108 times tying threads and fast for the health …

Death of Pandu in the Mahabharata

Death of Pandu in the Mahabharata is the result of a curse. Sage Kindama cursed King Pandu that he would die if he ever touches a woman. The sage cursed Pandu because he had killed an antelope while he was mating with a doe. The antelope was Sage Kindama and the doe was his wife.

Pandu felt that, as he could not now father a child he was unfit to be a king and decided to live in the forest. His wives Kunti and Madri insisted on staying with him in the forest.

Kunti in her teenage due to her service to Sage Durvasa had got a boon that she will be able to summon a god and have children in him. Pandu asked her to make use of the boon and beget children. Thus the Pandavas were born.

Pandu lived happily in the forest with his two wives and five sons in the forest.
But one day he happened to see Madri returning after taking bath. He could not resist the beauty of Madri and touched her. Immediately the curse of Kindama was realized and he died.

Pancharama Kshetras in Andhra Pradesh – The concept of Five Shiva Temples

Pancharama Kshetras are the concept of five Shiva temples in Andhra Pradesh. The five temples are: Bhimeshwara Temple at Draksharama in East GodavariBhimeshwara Temple at Samalakota Bhimavaram in East GodavariSomeshwara Temple at Gunupudi Bhimavaram in West GodavariRamalingeshwara Temple at Palakollu in West GodavariAmareshwara Temple at Amaravati in Guntur District These temples were built by Eastern Chalukya king Bhima I (892 – 921 AD)

Story of Pancharama Kshetras The five Shivlings worshipped in the five temples were part of a single Shivling. It was worshipped by demon Tarakasura. Kartik or Muruga, son of Shiva, was born to annihilate demon Tarakasura. But he could not kill the demon as his body came back to the original state even after getting cut down by arrows.

Katikeya was then told that the demon got the power due to the Shivling he worshipped.

So Kartikeya broke the Shivling into five pieces with Agneyastra.

Surya, the sun god, then installed the five Shivlings in five plac…

Bhakti alone is the essence – Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa

What is Bhakti Yoga? It is to keep the mind on God by chanting His name and glories ... Bhakti, love of God, is the essence of all spiritual discipline. Through love one acquires renunciation and discrimination naturally.

To love God is the essence of the whole thing. Bhakti alone is the essence. Narada said to Rama, ‘May I always have pure love for Your Lotus Feet; and may I not be deluded by Your world-bewitching maya!’ Rama said to him, ‘Ask for some other boon.’ ‘No,’ said Narada, ‘I don’t want anything else. May I have love for Your Lotus Feet. This is my only prayer.’
Bhakti is the one essential thing. To be sure, God exists in all beings. Who, then, is a devotee? He whose mind dwells on God. But this is not possible as long as one has egotism and vanity. The water of God’s grace cannot collect on the high mound of egotism.
– Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa