Skip to main content


Showing posts from April 14, 2011

Mala or Rosary for Chanting Goddess Lakshmi Mantras

Using Mala (rosary) is a common practice while chanting mantras. In Hindu tradition, the best rosary for chanting mantras dedicated to Goddess Lakshmi is the Kamala Gatta Mala – rosary made using dry lotus seeds. Another popular mala that can be used for chanting Mahalakshmi mantra is the rosary made using white chandan (sandalwood paste or wood). Performing Lakshmi puja and chanting mantras dedicated to the Goddess with Kamala gatta mala will bring in prosperity and material wealth. The rosary made from white chandan or lotus seeds are also offered to Goddess Lakshmi during vrats (fasting) and other rituals.

Short Video on Konark Sun Temple

The SunTemple at Konark in Orissa is a UNESCO World Heritage site and is noted for its architectural marvel – especially the chariot wheel. KonarkSunTemple is a grand representation of the chariot of Surya – the Hindu Sun God. This short video on KonarkSunTemple gives a brief introduction of the temple – its importance and architecture. The temple is located about 35 km from Puri and 65 km from Bhubaneshwar. 

Anandmurti Gurumaa Teachings

You have to acknowledge your fallacies and begin to work with wisdom and meditation on them. There is so much of turmoil, confrontations in family and society because of the excess emotional baggage we carry. You have to learn to let go of it. Life gives us situations, not solutions. Solutions are always created by our wisdom. In most of the relationships we see around, the basic problem remains the same "I am a pauper; the other is a pauper" When I say pauper then I mean a person who is devoid of the sense of true Self. You have to know this truth: Nothing; neither people nor things can make you rich, nobody can give meaning to your life. So stop hankering for appreciation, sympathy or love from others. Explore your inner core, your untapped energy source and rejoice in it. Love and respect your Self.
Anandmurti Gurumaa Related On living in the present moment – Anandamurti Gurumaa

Today – April 14, 2011 – is Maha Vishuba Sankranti – New Year in Orissa

Today – April 14, 2011 – is Maha Vishuba Sankranti, also known as Mesha Sankranthi and Pana Sankranti, and is observed as the Oriya New Year. The day marks the beginning of the New Year in the traditional Solar Calendar in Orissa. The highlight of the day is the preparation of sweet drink called ‘Pana,’ which is made from fruits, milk, curd etc. An interesting story of Maha Vishuba Sankranti is associated with Bhishma in the Mahabharata and you can read it here.

Today is Tamil New Year – April 14, 2011 – Puthandu – Chithirai 1

Today – April 14, 2011 – is Tamil New Year. It is the first day of Chithirai 1 as per Tamil Calendar and is observed as Tamil New Year or ‘Varsha Pirappu’. The New Year is also referred as Puthandu Vazthukal meaning ‘Happy New Year.’ The Kharanama Samvatsara begins on April 14 – Current Tamil Year is 1420. You can read more about Tamil New Year in this article

Today’s Hindu Calendar – April 14, 2011 – Tithi, Vrat, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on April 14, 2011 – Today is Shukla Paksa Ekadasi – eleventh day of the waxing phase of moon in Hindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is Shukla Paksha Ekadasi Tithi till 6:04 PM. Afterwards Dwadasi or twelfth day starts.  All time based on India Standard Time. Nakshatra – Magha or Makam Nakshatra till 8:05 pm on April 14, 2011. Afterwards it is Purvaphalguni or Puram Nakshatram. Rashi or Moon Sign – Simha Rashi Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days – Tamil New Year. Mesha Sankranti. Ekadasi Vrat – Kamda Ekadasi Fasting. Mahavishuba Sankranti in Orissa. Chaitra Shukla Ekadasi or eleventh day of the waxing phase of moon in Chaitra month in calendars followed in Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat. Chaitra Shukla Ekadasi or eleventh day of the waxing phase of moon in Chait month in calendars followed in Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and J…

Latest Posts