Skip to main content


Showing posts from December 27, 2010

7 face Rudraksha for Shani – Importance of Saat Mukhi Rudraksha

Rudraksha with seven faces (saat mukhi) is worn to ward off the astrological troubles caused by Shani in one’s Horoscope. It is also worn to mitigate the Sade Sati effect. A Rudraksha bead is distinguished by its number of ‘mukhi’ or faces. Hindu Religious texts talk about Rudrakshas with one to fourteen faces. Some texts refer of Rudrakshas with one to twenty-one faces and some also talk about Rudrakshas with more than thirty faces. The deity of the 7 face Rudraksha is Kamadev or Manmatha – the Hindu God of love. 7-face Rudraksha represent Shani Bhagavan. It is worn to avoid Shani Dosha or the bad effects of Shani. It is also worn by people to improve their position during the Sade Sati Shani period. Some people also wear it to avoid health problems associated with stomach. There is a popular belief that seven-faced Rudraksha helps in problems associated with legs and bones. You may also like to read Origin of Rudraksha Rudraksha Trees The Healing Power of Rudraksha How to choose the best Ru…

Gita Online Course – Study Bhagavad Gita Online at Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies (OCHS)

The Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies (OCHS) is a Recognized Independent Centre of the University of Oxford, United Kingdom. The centre provides various courses in Hinduism online and the next session of the Bhagavad Gita course starts on January 16, 2012 and you can enroll now. Course cost is £110 fully inclusive.

All study materials are delivered via the web. The tutor will always be available by email. You will also be able to communicate online with your fellow students.

In the Bhagavad Gita course there is a detailed study of the text and the principal religious ideas contained within the Bhagavad Gita's eighteen chapters.

You can find more details about the course structure and how to enroll here at the official website of Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies (OCHS).

Mother Sarada Devi – Teachings

Today is Mother Sarada Devi Jayanti.
A person can be best understood in his performance of insignificant duties. Early morning and evening, i.e., when night passes into day and day into night; these are the best hours for meditation. One should meditate regularly at fixed hours, for who knows when the auspicious moment will come when one will have a vision of the Divine. Such a moment comes suddenly without any premonition. So one should keep to the routine even if one’s mind is very disturbed. Whenever you go from one place to another, observe the things around you, and also keep yourself well informed about what happens in the place where you live. But keep your lips shut. Sarada Devi

Today in Hindu Calendar – December 27, 2010

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on December 27, 2010, Monday – Today is Krishna Paksha Saptami or 7th day of waning phase / dark phase of moon in Hindu calendar and Panchang in all places. Saptami Tithi from 0100 hrs on December 27, 2010 to 2250 hrs on December 27. Before it is 0100 hrs it is Sashti Tithi. After 2250 hrs it is Ashtami Tithi. All time based on India Standard Time. Margashirsh Krishna Paksha Saptami or 7th of Margashirsh month in Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat. Paush Krishna Paksha Saptami or 7th day of Poush month in calendars followed in Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Jammu and Kashmir. Rashi or Moon Sign – Simha Rashi. Nakshatra – Purvaphalguni or Puram Nakshatram till 0725 hrs on December 27, 2010. Then onwards it is Uttaraphalguni or Uttiram Nakshatra. 12th day of Margazhi Masam in Tamil Calendar followed in Tamil Nadu. 12th day of Dhanu Masam i…