--> Skip to main content

Navakumari – Nine Goddesses or Navkumari

Many of must be aware of the Navadurga concept or the nine goddesses worshipped during Navratri. Another concept is that of Navakumari. The concept of Navkumari is not very famous as the Navadurga concept but these nine goddesses are also worshipped during Navratri by many Hindu communities. Just like the Navadurgas, Navkumaris are also invoked on each day of the nine-day Navratri festival.

Nine Goddesses who are considered as Navkumari and worshipped during Navratri are –
  1. Mahakali
  2. Mahalakshmi
  3. Mahasaraswati (In some lists instead of Mahasaraswati it is Chamundi)
  4. Lokamaya (All that we see around is nothing but the beauty of the Supreme Goddess and not realizing the Supreme Truth behind all that is around we crave for material possessions. Due to Her this quality she is known as Loka-Maya.)
  5. Raktadantika (This form of Shakti appeared when Shiva was fighting Andhakasura – she is believed to have appeared from the Sweat of Shiva)
  6. Shakambari Devi (In this form of Goddess Shakti – she nourishes the earth)
  7. Sri Durga
  8. Bramaradevi (She is the consort of Shiva at the famous Srisailam Temple and is and incarnation of Goddess Parvati)
  9. Chandika Devi 
Please note that some of these forms of Mother Goddess is only worshiped in a particular region. So a different form of Her manifestation might take place in a list in a particular region.

Nava Durga Nine Forms of Goddess Durga Worshipped During Navratri