Skip to main content

Panchopachar – Five Simple Steps and Items used in Hindu Puja

Panchopachar are the five items used in a simple puja in Hinduism. Some people also consider it as the five steps to worship their personal deity. Panchopachar, or the five items, used in Hindu puja are rice, incense, lamp, flowers and food. In some regions rice is mixed with turmeric and offered to the deity.

The Panchopachar items are:

Akshat, or Akshata, or rice

Dhoop or incense

Diya, or deep, or lamp or light

Pushpa or flowers

Naivedhya or Naivedh, usually sweet or fruits or a simple rice preparation.


How to do a simple Hindu Puja?

The 16 Steps or Rituals in a Hindu Puja – Upacharas in Hinduism