--> Skip to main content

Six Paths Leading To Mother Goddess In Shaktism

According to Shaktism, there are six paths of spiritual discipline that lead to the Divine Mother Goddess. They are:

  1. Letters of the alphabet – varnadhva
  2. Words made up of these letters - padadhva
  3. Mantras comprising of words – mantradhva
  4. Aspects such as knowledge peace etc – kaladhva
  5. Thirty-six categories of Shaktism – tattvadhva
  6. Various worlds – bhuvanadhva

The six paths are together known as Shadadhva.

Instead of following the six paths a devotee can worship Shiva, Vishnu, Durga, Surya, Ganapati and Indusambhava (a Jain deity) to attain the same goal.

The 991st name of Goddess Lalita in the Lalitasaharanama is Shadadhvatita Roopini – the one beyond the six paths.