--> Skip to main content

Eight Categories Of Bhairava – Ashtabhairavas

The fierce or the wandering form of Shiva is known as Bhairava. There are 64 Bhairavas and they are divided into eight categories known as Ashta Bhairavas. They are the guardians of the eight directions. They are:

  1. Asitanga Bhairava
  2. Ruru Bhairava
  3. Chanda Bhairava
  4. Krodha Bhairava
  5. Unmatta Bhairava
  6. Kapala Bhairava
  7. Bheeshana Bhairava
  8. Samhara Bhairava

It is said that in each of the 51 Shakti Peethas, Shiva mediates as Bhairava.

It is said that Bhairva along with his consort Bhairavi gives darshan to his faithful devotees at midnight.

Bhairavas are ruled and controlled by Kalabhairava as per Shaivite tantric texts

As per Trikha system Bhairava is Para Brahman.