--> Skip to main content

Nine Paths Of Devotion As Per Vallabhacharya

Vallabhacharya is the founder of Pushtimarg and the corresponding school of philosophy known as Shuddhadvaita. He accepts nine paths of devotion

  1. Hearing
  2. Reciting
  3. Remembering
  4. Prostrating
  5. Worship
  6. Salutation
  7. Service
  8. Friendship
  9. Dedication

These nine paths of devotion recommended by the knowledge texts to realize the greatness of god are together defined as Maryada Bhakti. Those who are innocent and have no approach to knowledge texts and have no opportunity to perform yajna attain moksha through the nine paths of devotion. Those who are liberated by the grace of god through the nine paths of devotion are pushti bhaktas.

The nine stages of the Maryada take the devotee to the final goal of love, while in the path of pushti, love for God is the starting point. The devotees of the pushti type are attached to Bhagavan Sri Krishna through love only. This school regards Sri Krishna as the highest Brahman and the highest joy.