--> Skip to main content

Niranjani Sect

 The Niranjani sect is believed to have developed from Natha Pancha. It now exists in Odisha and western India.

In his Bhakta Mala, Ragho Das has mentioned with great esteem the twelve Mahantas who had widely propagated this sect. They were – Laptayo Jagannathdasa, Shaymadasa, Nathdasa, Jagjivana, Tulasidasa, Anandadasa, Puranadasa, Mohanadasa, Haridasa, Kantharadasa, Dhyanadasa, and Khebhadasa. Among these, Haridasa and Tulasidasa are of great importance.

Haridaa established the main center of propagation at Deedwana (Rajasthan) and wrote nine books, which are combined in “Shri Hari Puruas Ki Vani”. Tulasidasa composed 4,202 skahis, 461 padas and four other granthas. He was the greatest scholar of this sect. It is notable that Kashi Nagari Praharini Sabha has also discovered some poetic works of Tulasidasa in the form of manuscripts.

Niranjani School follows a middle path between Natha Pantha and Nirguna School. The basic tenets of this sect are

Belief in one omnipresent and omnipotent God – Niranjana, devoid of maya.

Man as embodiment of God

Navadha Bhakti (devotion marked by nine aspects combined with prema bhakti as the marvelous medium to attain spiritual peace;

Reciting the name of God, and yoga sadhana, which help the aspirants to awaken the powers of the soul. There should be oneness in man’s mind, speech and action. Guidelines for sadhana should be obtained from Gorakhnath, Gopicanda, Bhartrhari, Nabhadasa, Kabira, Ravi Dasa, Pipa, etc.