--> Skip to main content

Eight important Nagas Or Snakes in Hinduism

There are eight important Nagas or Snakes in Hinduism. They are frequently mentioned in the Puranas, Mahabharata, Ramayana and other scriptures. The eight principal serpents are:

  1. Ananta (Sesha) - holds the earth on its fangs - associated with Vishnu
  2. Vasuki - ornament of Shiva - associated with Shiva
  3. Padma
  4. Mahapadma
  5. Takshaka
  6. Karkotaka
  7. Kulika (Gulikan) and
  8. Shankha