--> Skip to main content

Niranam Shiva Temple – Thrikkapaleeswaram Dakshinamurthy Temple - History

Niranam Shiva Temple, popularly known as Thrikkapaleeswaram Dakshinamurthy temple, is located at Niranam on Thiruvalla – Mavelikkara road in Pathanamthitta district, Kerala. The ancient temple is one among the 108 Shiva temples in Kerala. The darshanam of Niranam Thrikkapaleeswaram temple is towards east.

The Sankalpam here is that of Shiva as Kapaleshwar – Shiva holding the skull as the begging bowl. The shrine is also famous as a Dakshinamurthy Temple.

The Upa Devatas worshipped in the temple are Ganapathy, Sri Krishna, Sastha, Vrishabha and Saptamatrikas.

The main festival worshipped in the temple is Mahashivratri.

Oil is donated here to defeat enemies. Oil is also donated to the temple for early cure when cattle or livestock fall sick.

The temple is famous for the worship of Saptamatrikas. It is believed that murtis of the seven divine mothers here are the most beautiful ones in Kerala. The Rishabha murti (Nandi) here is also famous for its beauty. Rishabha has separate shrine and pujas daily.

Niranam Shiva Temple History

As per history, the temple was famous as Niranam Kapileswaram. The region and the temple was also known as Mahodayapuram. The 14th century Manipravalam poem, Unni Neeli Sandesham, mentions this temple. It is believed that the temple was built during the reign of Cheraman Perumal. As per some scholars, the temple was connected to Kodungallur, the capital of Chera kings.

The temple was managed by Pathillathil Pottimar. Currently, the temple is managed by Kshetra Samrakshana Samiti.

Kannassan Parambu, famous as it was the home of Niranam Kannassa Kavikal (poets), is located on the west side of the temple. They were important poets during the early part of the Bhakti movement in Kerala. It is believed that these poets were the Kazhakam (s) at Niranam Thrikkapaleeswaram temple.

Niranam Shiva Temple Timings:

Sunday to Friday
Morning hours – 5:30 AM to 9:00 AM
Evening hours – 5:00 PM. to 7:00 PM
5:30 AM. to 10:30 AM
5:00 PM. to 8:00 PM