--> Skip to main content

Narayani Sena Of Sri Krishna - Narayani Army In Mahabharata And The End Of The Army

Narayani Sena consisted of one hundred million Yadava soldiers. They owed their allegiance to Sri Krishna. The soldiers of Narayani army were famous for their strength and skill. They were unassailable warriors famed for their valor.

The Yadavas consisted of four major clans – Abhira, Andhaka, Vrishni, and Satvata. They worshiped Sri Krishna. They had been united under Sri Krishna who they believed as an incarnation of Narayana (Vishnu). Hence they gave the name Narayani Sena to their army.

The Narayani Sena consisted of 11 akshauhinis. One akshauhini consists of 21,870 chariots, 21,870 elephants, 65,610 cavalry and 1,09,350 infantry.

Only two akshauhinis of the Narayani Sena participated in the Kurukshetra war of the Mahabharata. Nine akshauhinis did not participate in the war.

When Arjuna chose an unarmed Sri Krishna over the Narayani Sena, the army fought for the Kauravas in the Mahabharata war.

But for once there was difference of opinion in the Narayani Sena. The greatest war of their age was being fought between the forces of Dharma and Adharma. So there was a debate whether to obey Sri Krishna or fight with Dharma.

Balarama, the elder brother of Sri Krishna, the most important member of the Narayani Sena, after Sri Krishna, decided not to participate in the war. It is believed that the Abhira and Satvata clans followed the decision of Balarama. So they did not participate in the war. A total of nine akshauhinis sided with Balarama and sat out of the war.

Andhaka was led by Kritavarma who decided to follow the words of Sri Krishna. They fought for the Kauravas.

Satyaki of Vrishni clan made it clear that he will not fight against Sri Krishna and will not side with Adharma. He disobeys Sri Krishna and he along with his army fights for the Pandavas.

In the Mahabharata war, Satyaki was the commander of one akshauhini. Not much damage happened to this group of the Narayani Sena.

Kritavarma was the commander of one akshauhini. He survived the war but the army was mostly wiped out.

Narayani Sena did not lose a single commander in the Kurukshetra war.

What Happened To Narayani Sena After Mahabharata?

When Yudhishtira performed the Ashwamedha Yajna after the Mahabharat war to establish Dharma over the whole of Bharatavarsha, it is the Narayani Sena that fights for him. The army of Pandavas was greatly reduced after the Mahabharata war. It is the Narayani Sena, the full 11 akshauhinis along with Kritavarma and Satyaki, that fought for the re-establishment of Dharma under Yudhishtira.

How Was Narayani Sena Defeated?

There was the rise of Adharma when it was time for the disappearance of Sri Krishna from earth. The members of the Narayani Sena become wild, frivolous and pleasure seeking. There was no discipline and guiding force.

Once, the entire Narayani Sena reached Prabhasa. They were making fun of saints and people and were indulged in merry making, dancing, killing animals, eating and drinking. Arguments turned into fights. In the brawl that followed, Kritavarma was killed by Satyaki. To avenge the death of Kritavarma, Satyaki as killed by friends and relatives of Kritavarma.

Soon, everyone was fighting everyone and within a span of hours the entire Narayani Sena was wiped out. They killed each other. Vabhru and Daruka alone remained as witness to the end of Narayani Sena.

Who Killed Narayani Sena?

No external force killed Narayani Sena. They were killed by themselves. Everything in nature has to come to an end. The powerful Narayani Sena came to an end through their indiscipline, ego and mistakes. Without the all powering leadership of Sri Krishna, the Narayani Sen were just a bunch of men with no discipline, values and dharma. The power of the army rested in the strong leadership of Sri Krishna.