--> Skip to main content

Story Of Origin Of First Divya Desam

The story of origin of first Divya Desam is associated with the Mudal Azhwars. There are 108 Divya Desams – the 108 Vishnu temples that are mentioned in the works of the Azhwars. Mudhal Azhwars are divine beings as they were not born in a womb.

Once, Poigai Azhwar was going on a pilgrimage to Tirukkovalur. It was night time and it started raining profusely. He took shelter at the Ashram of Mrigandu Maharishi. The shelter he found was very small.

A couple of hours later thee second of the Mudhal Azhwars, Bhutatt Azhwar also arrived there seeking shelter from heavy rain.

Soon the third Alwar, Peyazhwar also came and stood with the other two Alwars. The small space could only hardly accommodate the three of them.

Suddenly they felt the presence of someone else.

In order to see the fourth invisible person, Poigai Azhwar lit a light by singing his divine song (prabandham) starting with ‘Vaiyam Thagalia’.

The second Azhwar lit second light by singing his divine song starting with “Anbe Thagaliya”.

The third Azhwar lit the third light by singing his divine song starting with “Tirukkanden”.

The three Azhwar witnessed the Lord Vishnu with His divine consort in all splendor.

Thus Tirukkovalur became the first Divya Desam, where the Mudhal Azhwars were personally present to praise Lord Vishnu and the Nalayira Divya Prabandham had its origin there.