--> Skip to main content

Bhramari – Feet Posture In Indian Classical Dance

Bhramari is one the four divisions of feet postures (pada bheda) in Indian classical dance. The other three postures are Mandala, Utplavana and Padacarika.

The Bhramari pada is of seven types
  1. Utpluta
  2. Cakra
  3. Garuda
  4. Ekapada
  5. Kunchita
  6. Akasha
  7. Anga
Bhramari refers to the circular motion.

In recika, the wais and the neck are put to use and in bhramari, a foot, lower part of the spine and knee are put to use.

Bhramari is very important in the Odissi form of Indian classical dance.

Tribhariga and Carrka are the two circular motions wherein bhramaripadas are extensively used.

Odissi speaks of two other bhramaris namely, viparita bhramari and antar bhramari, in addition to a variety called utpluta.

In these circular motion, the movement can be from left to right or from right to left.

In antar bhramari, one foot should touch the knee of the other and the circular motion is made complete.

In another form of Indian classical dance, Kathak, bhramari gets coupled with utplavana to give rise to graceful circular motions.

Utplavana relates to jumping and it goes well with the various types of bhramari to complete the circular motions.

The Kathak dancer, while enjoying himself in the bhramari posture, uses one foot for support and the other to complete the circular motion. Thus, bhramari occupies a unique place in the graceful dance movements.