--> Skip to main content

Vibhava Form Of Bhagavan Vishnu

According to Sri Vaishnava Agamas, Vishnu has five aspects or modes. They are para, vyuha, vibhava, antaryami and archavatara. Bhagavan Vishnu is said to assume various manifestations from time to time to protect the virtuous, punish the wicked and re-establish dharma. These incarnations are called vibhavas, more popularly avatars or descents into the world.

The popular and well known Vibhavas are ten in number – Matsya, Kurma, Varaha, Narasimha, Vamana, Parashurama, Rama, Balarama, Sri Krishna and Kalki.
Another set of popular Vibhava form is 24 in number. This includes various Sages and other minor incarnations like Mohini Avatar etc.

When a devotee following dharma is danger, Vishnu appears in human or non-human or inanimate form to help the devotee. These forms are also part of Vibhava.

Vibhava is the form that Vishnu takes to help a living being in the universe.