--> Skip to main content

Dahara Vidya In Hinduism

In Hinduism, Dahara Vidya is the knowledge of Brahman residing in the heart. Dahara Vidya perceives the human body as Brahmapura (the dwelling place of Brahman). There is a lotus called dahara. The indweller of this lotus in the heart is to be found by contemplation on the dahara akasha (space). The indweller is Parabrahman (the Supreme Brahman). 

Dahara Vidya In Chandogya Upanishad

The first part of the eight chapter of Chandogya Upanishad and dahara adhikarana in Brahma Sutras deal exclusively with this vidya (art). The Purusha contemplated in dahara akasha has the following eight characteristics (popularly known as gunasataka present in Parabrahman) according to Prajapati Vakya:
  1. Apahata papam (sings and virtues do not bind him0
  2. Vijara (no old age)
  3. Vimrityu (no death)
  4. Vishoka (no sorrow)
  5. Vjigitsa (free from hunger)
  6. Apipasa (no thirst)
  7. Satyakama (desires truth)
  8. Satya Sankalpa (achieves everything that is desired) 

These characteristics are not found in the bhuta akasha (sky) which is one of the five elements (pancha bhutas).

An individual contemplating the indweller of dahara akasha achieves satya sankalpa.

Everyone visits this dahara akasha in sushupti (deep sleep), and it is then called as Brahmaloka (world of Brahman). This is a routine, unconsciously experienced. A conscious experience requires his Kripa (mercy). This is declared in other Upanishads also.

The indweller is also referred to as Paramatma, who bears the world. He is also referred to as angustha matra (equivalent to the size of a thumb).

Guru upadesha (initiation by a preceptor) is a must for the efficacy, utility, and success of this vidya.

Vedanta Desika, the Vaishnava acharya (teacher) picturesquely describes this vidya in Tatparya Chandrika (a commentary on the Bhagavad Gita). He compares our body with a city where the five senses are the citizens. Parabrahma is the sarvabhauma (emperor). Atmans (individual souls) are servants.

There are navadwaras (nine doors, i.e., two eyes, two nostrils, two ears, mouth, excreting organ and reproductive organ.) It is by closing these nine doors that Paramatma is contemplated in dhara akasha.

According to Chandogya Upanishad (8.2), an individual who has mastered this vidya by His grace can go to any of the seven lokas (worlds).