--> Skip to main content

Halayudha Kosha – Sanskrit Lexicon In Verse

Halayudha Kosha was composed in the 10th century AD by Halayudha Bhaa. The original name given to the work by the author was Abhidhana Ratnamala, which means a necklace of words. But the work became popular as Halayudha Kosha, which occurs in the Halayudha Bhaa’s colophon of each chapter. Halayudha was a poet of the royal court of King Krishna of the Rashtrakuta dynasty. His Kavirahasya, a grammatical poem, has been lauded as a guide to poets.

The arrangement of Halayudha Kosha is similar to that of Amarakosha. It has five kandas (chapters) and these are named swarga (heaven), bhumi (earth), patala (nether region), samanya (general) and anekartha (words having more meanings attached to it than one.)

Of these the first two introductory verses, an invocation to Goddess Saraswati, called Vani here, who is Sabda Brahman (supreme reality as primordial sound), chaitanya (consciousness) of all creatures and who exists in tribhuvanam, the three worlds.

The second verse points out that the author aims at preparing his lexicon, following the great works of Amarsinha, Vararuchi, Bhaguri etc. The last chapter deals with homonyms and indeclinables.

Halayudha Kosha consists of 887 verses – 155 in the first chapter, 467 in the second chapter, 63 in the third and 101 in each of the last two chapters.

Source - notes taken from Encyclopedia of Hinduism Volume IV - IHRF