--> Skip to main content

What is Mahadasha in Hindu Astrology?

Mahadasha and Antardasha are two important aspects of Hindu astrology and are related to horoscope of a person. Mahadasha is ruling period and Antardasha is the intervening period. The ruling period of planet is fixed at 120 years. Every planet is allotted a certain years. Thus Sun has 6 years, Moon 10 years; Marsh 7 years; Rahu 18 years; Jupiter 16 years; Saturn 19 years; Mercury 17 years; Ketu 7 years and Venus 20 years.

Dasha at the time of birth is calculated from the position of the Moon at birth.

The order of periods of the nine planets is Ketu, Venus, Sun, Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn and Mercury.

The duration of initial Mahadasha depends upon the distance covered by the Moon in the particular constellation.

Mahadasha of an exalted planet is very good but that of a debilitating planet is bad. But it should be noted that Antardasha of a planet also plays and important role. If the planet is in an exalted Antardasha, it may bring good results.