--> Skip to main content

Suta Samhita – One Of The Sections Of Skanda Purana

Suta Samhita is one among the six sections of Skanda Purana. The other five sections are Sanatkumara Samhita, Shankari Samhita, Vaishnavi Samhita, Brahma Samhita and Sauri Samhita. The Suta Samhita comprises four sub sections: Sivamahatmya Khanda, Jnanayoga Khanda, Mukti Khanda and Yajnavaibhava Khanda.

The Suta Samhita accepts the authority of Vedas and holds that Upanishads are the authentic sources of wisdom. In fact, the entire Brahmagita, forming part of the last section is a recast of the verses of the major Upanishads.

Knowledge is held as the only means of gaining liberation. This is stressed in the Jnana Yoga Khanda. The performance of the rituals enjoined in the scriptures helps in attaining mental purification. All knowledge, other than that of the Self, is only lower knowledge. The text describes the rules relating to the different stages of life.

Devotion to Shiva and the grace of Shiva are necessary for gaining knowledge. Hence it describes the shrines of Shiva.

As per Suta Samhita, there are four kinds and gradations of liberation, namely salokya, sarupya, samipya and sayujya.
  • Salokya consists of the privilege of living in the same world as that of Shiva.
  • Sarupya having an appearance similar to that of Lord Shiva, being free from mortality.
  • Samipya enables the individual soul to have access to the Lord.
  • Sayujya, the highest one, can be had by means of knowledge only. It is an indescribable state of communion with the Lord.