--> Skip to main content

Parts Of Sri Chakra Yantra – How To Draw Sri Chakra Yantra?

Here is a brief idea on how to draw Sri Chakra with all the parts of Sri Chakra Yantra
The Sri Chakra Yantra has the following components.
  1. At the center ‘bindu’ which is a dot is an embodiment of the brahmanda or bliss that is the result of the union of the male and female aspects of the Brahman, ready to create the Universe.
  2. The trikona (the small triangle) around the bindu.
  3. The vasukona or astakona – the group of eight triangles, surrounding the trikona.
  4. The antardasara (the inner group of ten triangles) around the inner triangles.
  5. The bahirdasara (the outer group of ten triangles) around the inner triangles.
  6. The Chaturdasara (a set of fourteen triangles) surrounding the bahirdasara.
  7. The eight-petalled lotus or ashtadala around the chaturdasara.
  8. The lotus with sixteen petals encircling the astadala.
  9. The three girdle-like circles around the sixteen petalled lotus; and
  10. The bhupura (the three quadrangular lines with gate-lie openings on all four sides.
  11. The bhupura, or the three quadrangular compound wall-like lines, in certain verses in the Saundaryalahari, there is no specific mention about the bhupuras having gate like openings on four sides.

One of the commentators on Saundaryalahari, stanza 11, quotes Yamala stanza differently. The second line is replaced by a different version which specifies the gate-like openings are there on all the four sides.

There is a Vedic statement “satadwaragamamta” (Tai. Ar. 1.31). This clearly states that the four sides have one gate on each. However, still there are quite a few groups of Sri Chakra worshipers who follow the closed rampart form of the Chakra.

Parasurama Kalpa Sutra, which prescribes the procedures for worshipping Sri Chakra, emphasizes that the bhupura (the quadrangular enclosures) have no openings on the sides.
The commentator on Sutras, Rameshwara Suri, has written a long note on this question and concludes that there are no openings on the four sides. He does not take into account the Vedic statement quoted earlier.

Further, another great authority who has written an elaborate commentary on Parashurama Sutra codifying the puja procedures, Umanandanatha in his book Nityotsava, also accepted the four-gate form. His guru, Bhaskararaya, in his Setu Banda, has accepted the unbroken outer enclosure lines. However, the Vedic authority based view considered the best.

A second point that looks controversial is the question how many triangles there are in the Sri Chakra – 43 or 44.

There are a total of 43 triangles:
One Fourteen kona = 14
Two ten konas = 20
One Ashta kona = 8
The inner triangle = 1

If the bindu in the center of the inner triangle is also considered as kona, the total becomes 43 + 1 = 44.

One more point to be noted is that the three girdle like circles are not explained anywhere, nor are they counted in the worship. However, in some parts of North India, this is also considered separately for performing puja, in which case the number of avaranas increases.