--> Skip to main content

Jivanmuktas In Hindu Religion – Understanding The Meaning And Life Of Jivanmukta

By doing Sadhana, the one who reaches a higher state of consciousness is referred to as Jivanmuktas in Hindu religion. They are the people who have reached the highest state of humanly possible realization.

Jivanmuktas In Hindu Religion – Understanding The Meaning And Life Of Jivanmukta

Jivanmuktas Are Classified Into Four Categories
  1. Brahma Vid –  The Knower of Brahman
  2. Brahma Vid Vara – Better knower of Brahman
  3. Brahma Vid Variya – the one who knows Brahman best.
  4. Brahma Vid Varishta – the greatest knower of Brahman
Beyond the fourth is a category, the highest category, rarely reached. Perhaps, not more than a dozen people would have been there since the inception of the entire world, who can be said to be in this category. (It is the world beyond forms and categories.)

Bhagavan Ramana Maharshi was asked to be a witness in a case related to Arunachaleshwara Temple.

The judges came to speak with Bhagavan and they made enquiries with him, along the following lines – “Who are you? You don’t look to be a Sanyasi, but like a sanyasi you have shaved off your head. But you are not wearing ochre robes, are you a Brahmachari? But we do not find the sign of a Brahmachari, the yajnopavita (sacred thread) on your shoulder. So then, to what category do you belong?”

Bhagavan pointed to a category beyond all Sanyasis. There are sanyasis like Avadhuta, Paramahamsa and the like. He was beyond all these. Bhagavan said he was a AtivarnAshrami, one who transcends all VarnAshrama i.e. all the stations in life (that of a Brahmachari, of a householder, or a Sanyasi). He never formally took Sannyasa at any time. He was beyond all the four categories – He is a Ati-varnasharami!

SourceSanyasa or Formal Renunciation By Swami Shantananda Puri Maharaj, February, 2014