--> Skip to main content

Kula Parvatha In Hinduism

Kula Parvatha in Hinduism is an important chain of mountains. They are distinguished from the varsaparvatas, which separate divisions of the world. There are seven Kula Parvathas in Bharata Varsha – Mahendra, Malaya, Sahya, Suktiman, Riksha, Vindhya and Pariyatra. The seven ranges form a ring, as it were, around the frontiers and the center tableland.

Kula Parvatha Their Modern Names

  1. Mahendra – Eastern Ghats
  2. Malaya – Malaya Ranges
  3. Sahya – Sahyadri – Western Ghats
  4. Suktiman – region north of Sahyadri
  5. Riksha – Satpura Ranges
  6. Vindya – Vindhya Ranges
  7. Pariyatra - Aravali

Accordingly, Mahendra forms the eastern ranges starting from Kalinga (Odisha). Hence it is still known by the name in the Ganjam region there. At present it is popularly known as the “Eastern Ghats.” It joins at the southern end of the hilly region known as Malaya. 

After annihilating the Kshatriyas, Parashurama, the sixth avatar of Lord Vishnu, made this mountain his abode and practiced penance here for twelve years. A pond called Ramatirtha on the top of the mountain is held as sacred.

The Malaya ranges of mountains are well known in literature for their sandalwood forests. Hence sandal is known by the term malayaja. Sage Agastya had his hermitage here. The rivers Kritamala, Tamraparni, and many streams flow from here.

Sahya (or Sahyadri) is the range of mountains which, from the present Western Ghats going southwards (from north to south) on the west, is still known by that name in Maharashtra and the Konkani regions. The Kaveri River, rising in its southern end, is popularly known as the daughter of Sahya. The rivers Godavari, Krishnaveni, and Bimarathi rise from this mountain.

The Shuktiman ranges spread from the region north of Sahyadri towards the east and include the hilly regions of Khandesa and Ajanta as far as the Golkonda plateau.
The Riksha ranges are the modern Satpura ranges, which are spread as far as the Chota Nagpur plateau. The rivers Tapti, Vena, Ganga, and small rivers such as Brahmani and Vaitarani flowing through Odisha rise from these ranges.

The Vindhya ranges extend along the north of the Narmada River, from which rise rivers such as Shonk, Narmada, Mahanadi, Tamasa and Dasharna, which flow into different oceans. There are many sacred shrines on the bank of the river Narmada adjoining the mountain.

The Pariyatra ranges are identified with the modern Aravali. The name “Pariyatra” is derived from the practice of skirting it while proceeding from Dwarka to the Sauvira region.

The location of countless holy places on these mountain ranges and the hallowed places of river sources add to their importance in the culture of the Hindus. Thousands of holy places associated with Hindus are located on these mountains.