--> Skip to main content

Pancharatna in Hindu Puja – Five Gems Used in Hinduism

When Hindu pujas are performed for naimittika or kamyapuja (worship to fulfill desire), Pancharatna is used. Pancha ratna or five precious stones are very rarely employed in worship. The five gems used in puja in Hinduism are:
  1. Sapphire
  2. Diamond
  3. Ruby
  4. Pearl
  5. Coral

The five gems are never used in regular puja at home called nitya puja.

The five precious stones represent richness and auspiciousness. It is associated with Goddess Lakshmi.

If the precious stones are used in puja then they are to be later utilized for the welfare of Mother Earth. The money got from selling them is used for planting trees or digging ponds.