--> Skip to main content

Bhoga Lakshmi - An Important Form Of Goddess Lakshmi

Bhoga Lakshmi is the second form of Ashtavidha Lakshmi. She is usually consecrated inside the sanctum sanctorum, on either side of Lord Vishnu. This Lakshmi is sculpted either seated or in standing posture corresponding to the posture of Lord Vishnu.
She is consecrated in threefold form, first in the form of Sridevi, second Bhudevi, and third is Nila Devi.

Bhoga Lakshmi is today totally identified with Sridevi.

Ashtavidha Lakshmi is the eight forms of Lakshmi in Vaikhanasa Vishnu temple, it is suggested that there are eight places in a temple where Goddess Sri can be consecrated and worshipped.

According to Sage Bhrigu, Bhoga Lakshmi is consecrated to the right of Lord Vishnu inside the sanctum. 

She is portrayed as:
  • rukmabham – bright as the purest gold, kshoumambaradharam – attired in silken garment,
  • sapadmavAmahastAm – holding a lotus in the left hand,
  • uruprasaritadakshinahastam – the right hand on the thigh,
  • kasyabaddhaghanastanim - chest fastened with a band,
  • makutangadakeyuradi – adorned with a crown, wearing bracelets,
  • sarvabharanabhushitam – adorned with different jewels,
  • kinchitkunchitavamapadAm – with the left leg bent little bit,
  • prasaritadakshinapadabhya – with right leg stretched out.
And with all these features the icon has to be sculpted by a sthapati.

kasyasinasya cha karayet ||

The icon of Bhoga Lakshmi (Sridevi) should be sculpted with all the above details and this icon must be either upto shoulder height, or upto ear height or upto bosom height of the Dhruva Bera of Lord Vishnu.

And if the Lord’s Dhruva Bera is in standing posture, the Sridevi icon must also be in standing posture, if Lord’s posture is in recumbent, the consorts posture must be in seated posture etc.

Like this the icon of Sridevi is duly consecrated as per the tenets of Sri Vaikhanasa Bhagavachastra and daily worship is accorded.

If the worshipper wishes to offer separate worship along with the main icon of Lord Vishnu, it must be done by reciting the vedic hymns from Sri Suktam with 16 upacharas.