--> Skip to main content

Nine Kinds of Devotional Service in the Bhagavata Purana

Srimad Bhagavata Purana mentions the nine kinds of devotional service. The nine activities constitute pure devotional service. They are:

  1. Hearing about the transcendental name, form, qualities, paraphernalia, and pastimes of the Lord;
  2. Chanting about these things;
  3. Remembering them;
  4. Serving the lotus feet of the Lord;
  5. Offering the Lord respectful worship with incense, flowers, water, and so on;
  6. Offering prayers to the Lord
  7. Becoming his servant;
  8. Considering the Lord one’s best friend;
  9. Surrendering everything unto Him.